Friday, September 19, 2014

5 STAR #REVIEW and #GIVEAWAY: Hostage by N.S. Moore



Hostage by N.S. Moore

Description:


My life is split into two realities. Before Code. And after him.
The first time I saw him, he walked into my father’s bank with the strut of a man who knows exactly what he wants. I saw in him a fearlessness that I desperately wanted, needed, craved as much as my next breath.

Because I was watching him, I knew immediately when he pulled out a gun, aimed it at the ceiling, and fired three shots.

And that is the way I mark my life—before that moment and after it. Before, when I tried to be agreeable, tried to be admired, tried to be pretty, tried to make sure everyone liked me. Tried to shake myself of shame. And after, when all of that fell away. When I just didn’t care anymore.

Before Code. And after him.

I didn’t know then what he would be to me. I didn’t know how he would transform the fabric of my existence. I didn’t know he would move me, reshape me, mold me into someone else, someone I wanted to be.

Afterwards, he would become my lover, my savior, my hope, and my strength.

But, before that, he was my hostage-taker.


Review:

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Is there anything more star-crossed than falling for your captor who takes you hostage and demands you stay with him until he crosses the Mexican border? Possibly—but this is still pretty high up there. And what if to make matters worse it was your dad’s bank he robbed in the first place? Probably not the healthiest start to a successful relationship...

Wren doesn’t know a lot about healthy relationships though. She was violated by her stepfather at the age of 10 and has spent the remainder of her adolescence saying yes because it was simpler than saying no. All she’s ever really wanted is to be normal, to be liked, to feel like she’s living in the light instead of the shadows. But instead of life getting easier, it only gets more complicated when she’s taken as a hostage by Code and her life changes forever.

Code doesn’t really want the money or the diamonds he robbed the bank to get; he just wants freedom. So when the robbery goes tragically wrong, he’s suddenly not only dangerously close to losing all sense of freedom, he’s also got the sudden extra baggage of a feisty hostage to contend with.

The longer Wren and Code spend on the run together, the more they are drawn to each other despite their reservations and the more clearly they’re able to gain perspective on who they have become as individuals. I absolutely adored this love story. Code and Wren were ill-fated from the very beginning but it didn’t stop me from wanting them to somehow find a happily ever after together. The story was told from Code and Wren’s perspective, alternating by chapters, which was perfect in propelling the story forward and in allowing the reader to get to know both characters as the story progressed. Code and Wren’s time together was beyond sexy as Wren, who’d never enjoyed sex because of her earliest experiences, guiltily found out what turned her on. I couldn’t get enough of the magic that happened when the two of them came together. I loved the suspense of wondering if they’d get caught and the vulnerability both characters showed as their feelings for each other grew. All in all, I couldn’t have asked for a sweeter romance or a better storyline. I was supremely impressed that the author didn’t drag out the story with a cliffhanger and in how she ended it.

I couldn’t get enough of HOSTAGE and wouldn’t mind another five just like it. It was everything I’d hoped it would be and more. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys New Adult, bad boys, or light captivity stories. It’s not dark like most abduction stories I read; instead it’s perfectly refreshing and lighthearted.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**The version I read was an Advanced Reader Copy and had errors and some minor detail discrepancies. I anticipate this would be cleaned up prior to release date but felt it worth mentioning just in case. While I did notice these things, it did not in any way take away from the magic of the story for me. If the story sounds appealing to you, I would not let it deter you from snatching it up.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

Enter to Win! 

About the Author:
N.S. Moore has been writing for years, and she loves romance of all varieties—from sweet to very dark. Her first book, Hostage, is a sexy New Adult contemporary romance about two people who find each other in very unlikely circumstances but discover they’re exactly what the other needs.
When she’s not writing, N.S. Moore likes to read, shop, play tennis, and spend time with her family and her dog. She’s currently working on her next book.

She would love to hear from readers. If you’d like to get in touch with her, you can follow her on Facebook or email her at nsmooreauthor@gmail.com.

Social Links:  
Facebook  Goodreads 

Buy Links:

Amazon Amazon CA Amazon UK ● Amazon AU ● B&N

Excerpt:

I really am a fucking moron.

She’s quiet. Almost too quiet. Now that I’ve completely screwed myself, I need to come up with a way of keeping her here. Keeping her safe. I know that she’s probably thinking the rent-a-cop is going to be her savior, but she’s wrong. If she leaves here before Deke and the crew are caught, she could be in danger.

And I probably will be dead.

Quietly, I move around. I know this place like the back of my hand, and I know exactly what it is that I’m looking for and where to find it. Moving to the far corner, I find that doorway that we were heading toward earlier. There’s a shelving unit there. I feel around for a minute and find the three things I’m going to need.

She’s going to hate me, and I really can’t blame her. But considering I’ve kidnapped her and fucked her, what’s one more crime to add to the list.

I walk back over and put my hand on her shoulder, and she lets out a little scream. My hand immediately goes over her mouth. “I told you to be fucking quiet,” I hiss in her ear.

“Well you scared me. I never heard you move!” The words are out of her mouth as soon as I remove my hand.

“Listen, Princess, we have a problem.”

“What?” I don’t know if it’s fear or defiance or what, but her snappish tone is a far cry from the way she sounded a few minutes ago.

“When I go to get our food, I have to go alone.”

“Okay.”

I laugh bitterly. “There is no fucking way that I’m leaving you down here unattended. Don’t think that I’m not aware that you’ve been sitting here trying to figure out how to make a run for it as soon as I go upstairs.”

“I…I wasn’t. I mean, I wouldn’t know where to go.”

“Liar.” And before she can utter another word, I have the duct tape ripping and over her mouth. She goes to stand up but I shove her back down on the box. “We can do this one of two ways, Princess. I can keep you tied up and that tape over your mouth so that you can’t get away…”

Her head shakes furiously from side to side, and I’m close enough that she’s shoving against me in an attempt to get the tape off her mouth.

“Or we have option number two.” I put my hand by the tape. “I can pull this off right now, but then you’re going to have to strip.”

She instantly grows still.

“Those are your options. Bound and gagged or naked. Either one, it makes no difference to me. But I’m hungry and believe it or not, keeping you down here is keeping you safe. You may think that running is going to save you, but it won’t. Deke won’t rest until he finds us both. Think about it.”

She sags in front of me, her head hitting my shoulders. Personally, if I could have had her bound and gagged and naked, I’d be pretty fucking happy. But now is not the time for that.



Tour Coordinator:
EJ Button







Wednesday, September 17, 2014

4.5 STAR #REVIEW: Unspeakable Truths by @AMTribue

Unspeakable Truths by Alice Montalvo-Tribue
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

UNSPEAKABLE TRUTHS delivers a little of everything—pain, romance, passion, despair—the whole gamut of emotions and the believability behind it to pack a solid punch.

Everly loses her husband way before his time and blames her husband’s best friend for his death. Luca takes the blame to protect his best friend and leaves town and everyone he loves. But four years later, he’s back and he’s not willing to let Everly continue to waste away in a sea of sadness and suffering. He knows he’s the last person she wants to see, but if no one else can get through to her, he’s determined he will. Everly is horrified to realize that once she stops hating Luca, she might actually like him.

I loved every second of Luca and Everly together. When Everly was with Tyler at the beginning of UNSPEAKABLE TRUTHS, even the way Everly described him and their love story felt somewhat superficial and face value; but with Luca it was raw and unbridled. The two saw each other at their worst and still couldn’t deny their growing feelings for each other. Luca was caring and romantic and sweet, but he was also no-nonsense and opinionated. He wouldn’t just let Everly walk all over him no matter how long he’d loved her. The story alternates perspectives between Everly and Luca, though Everly narrates the majority of the story. I could feel the darkness that weighed Everly down and though it was emotional to read, it didn’t bring me down or make me want to stop reading. The love scenes between Everly and Luca were daring, bold, and steamy. The only thing that kept me from giving UNSPEAKABLE TRUTHS the full 5 stars was that for me it dragged on just a touch in the middle, but then the end picked up the pace again.

UNSPEAKABLE TRUTHS was a 4.5 star read for me and yet another great story by Alice Montalvo-Tribue. I have thoroughly enjoyed everything I’ve read by her and love that her stories are all so different yet share an ability to combine sadness and romance for an altogether amazing story.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews

BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Monday, September 15, 2014

4 STAR #Review and #Giveaway: The Suit by @BNTOLER

Picture1
The Suit by BN Toler

Description:


What happens when two dreams collide? 

Fed up with the farm life and his one-time love of training horses, John Wilson has traded his tattered boots and jeans for power suits and cufflinks. Through hard work and determination, John has just graduated from law school and is focused on a fresh start. Refusing to let his bitter past hinder his future, John is intent on moving forward with his new life.

Except there’s one last thing he has to do—settle old debts before he can truly move on.
Unfortunately, settling debts involves him returning to a life he’s worked hard to forget. A mind-numbing summer working on a horse farm awaits him, and he’s dreading every damn minute of it. 

Edie James is mourning the loss of her grandfather when John Wilson shows up in his perfectly tailored suit, reeking sexiness and city elegance—everything she’s not. Their meeting is less than pleasant as they both distastefully size up one another. 

She thinks he’s arrogant and a white-collar yuppie. 

He thinks she’s a simple, goody two-shoes farm girl. 

Edie’s grandfather made a new will before he passed leaving stipulations in order for Edie to inherit the family farm. And as if that wasn’t enough of a challenge, the suit has to work on the farm with her for three months to settle a debt he owed to her grandfather. 

And he’s moving in with her. 

With a rocky start, the two seemingly polar opposites call a truce and attempt to be friends. As their unexpected friendship blooms, an attraction develops and both realize their first impression of each other is far from the truth. Now this once dreaded summer is set to be the hottest and most unforgettable they've ever had. 

Review:
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Who said book boyfriends have to exist solely in the book? Edie figures she can have her cake and eat it too! All she needs is a cute friend-with-benefits and a little role-playing and she’s got the recipe for a hot summer fling!

Edie may have passed up on college fun to help her grandfather run his horse farm, but she can’t regret doing something she loves this much. Unfortunately, one of the negatives of living in a small town is that it’s very easy to be pegged as a certain kind of person and Edie is the good girl—the girl you marry, not the girl you hook up with. Which sounds fine unless you just want to have some fun.

John has done everything he can to escape his famlly’s horse training legacy after his father shattered his fond memories when he tanked the family farm. John only has one obligation left before he can put the past behind him and pursue his career as a lawyer in New York City.

When Edie and John realize they’ll be forced to spend the summer together whether they like it or not, they decide to make the most of it and indulge in their physical attraction for each other. They both understand that it’s for one summer only and there are no strings attached. With John, Edie can keep her good girl reputation and explore her naughty side all at once.

THE SUIT is a fun romantic story about letting down your walls and admitting what turns you on. It’s a perfect story for all the readers out there who leave the fun stuff in their imagination instead of merging all the ideas into their real life. THE SUIT has a familiar feel to it while exploring something completely original. The only thing keeping THE SUIT from a 5 star rating for me is that intangible something that makes me obsess about the characters—the grit and appeal that make the book unforgettable. THE SUIT is fun and romantic and easy to read but it didn’t give me that extra oomph that made me gaga over it.

THE SUIT is an enjoyable new adult romance that will make you feel good and fly through it. It’s original, warm, and satisfying.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

Enter to Win! 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
About the Author:
Picture5
B N Toler lives in Virginia with her epic husband, Toler, and their three rowdy children. When she's not reading and writing, she's thinking about reading and writing. Before she became a self-proclaimed writer, she worked as a real estate agent and as an orthodontic technician. **She will notice your teeth before your eyes or hair or anything.** 

She enjoys shopping (way too much) and is on a first name basis with several employees at the local Target in her town. 

She loves music,(bluegrass, country, 80's, actually she loves most music ~her favorite song is American Pie by Don McLean and she worships anything that is Elvis and Johnny Cash and Eric Church) dancing, (even though she sucks at it)reading, writing, eating (too much) sleeping late, (which she rarely gets to do) and laughing. If you can make her laugh, she will love you forever. 

Random and insignificant facts: 
She is addicted to Coca Cola 
She hates onions 
She loves thunderstorms 
She wants to have Karen Marie Moning's babies 
She curses....a lot...like way too much 
She's immensely afraid of snakes 
She fangirls over M.Pierce 
She HATES reality television 
She could eat her weight in Snickers candy bars 
She loves books and movies that make her cry 
She cries over anything remotely sad 
She loves the Lord 
She LOVES Jack Daniels and Ginger Ale. (too much) 
She hopes she hasn't bored you to death. 

Social Links:  
Website ● Twitter ● Facebook  Goodreads 

Buy Links:

Amazon B&N  Smashwords  

Picture3Interested in other B N Toler books?

Paranormal Romance:
The Healer Series
Healer
Hybrid
Savage (Coming December 2014)

New Adult/Contemporary Romance:
Wrecking Ball


Wednesday, September 10, 2014

5 STAR #Review and #Giveaway: New Point by @AuthorLuck

New Point Release Day


web
New Point by Olivia Luck

Description:


Imagine the worst day of your life. Immerse yourself in the details. How did you feel? Who were you with? What were the consequences? 


Recalling my darkest day is as simple as typing a few search terms into a web browser. It only took thirty minutes for me to become the center of a media frenzy that caught the attention of an entire country. 

So I hid. 

Nine months later and I'm getting better. Moved two hours from home, landed my dream job, and met a delicious new guy. 

Healing is that simple, right?

Wrong.


Goodreads Button with Shadow




Review:

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A soulful story, a beautiful romance, and a riveting plot combine for a fantastic 5 star read in NEW POINT.

It only took one terrifying day to transform Zoe from a driven, confident woman into a shell of the woman she once was. She leaves Chicago for a small town called New Point in the hopes of a fresh start. Within days, she literally falls into the arms of a man worth overcoming her fears for, but she’s not sure any guy would be willing to stick around for her degree of baggage. She decides to hide her past from Miles in the hopes that she can overcome her fears and forget what happened that fateful day. But changing cities doesn’t change Zoe and before she knows it she’s overcome with terror and losing Miles because she refuses to open up to him. Did she miss her chance at a new love and a new start? Will she even get the chance to find out?

I found NEW POINT to be captivating all around—from the original story to the fantastic dialogue to the absolutely breathtaking romance. I cried for Zoe, for the emotions I could feel through Blake and Miles, for the pain, fear and love I found completely believable. I loved how passionate and expressive Miles was and how Zoe said what she was thinking, sometimes to her own detriment.

“New Point isn’t known for much breaking and entering, but I have to admit, this looks mighty suspicious,” an unmistakably Midwestern accent drawls from behind me, effectively scaring the sweat off my bare shoulders.

“I didn’t realize this needed to be said explicitly after I practically threw down with your brother.”…“But for the record, I’m not seeing anyone else, and neither are you.”

I stroll down the staircase like the king of the fucking castle. Hell if I’m not prouder than a guy who just won the Super Bowl. It’s impossible to wipe the grin off my face.

I loved that even though Miles was clearly head over heels for Zoe, he didn’t just let her get away with everything. He expected her to give him every part of herself, and he wouldn’t settle for less. What’s more, Miles and Zoe’s love story has a beginning, middle and end in NEW POINT so there’s no frustrating cliffhangers to worry over.

NEW POINT is a refreshing love story that you don’t want to miss. This is the first book I’ve read by Olivia Luck but I can guarantee it won’t be my last. I can’t wait to read Blake’s story in PRESSURE POINT.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.


Enter to Win! 

Excerpt:

“New Point isn’t known for much breaking and entering, but I have to admit, this looks mighty suspicious,” an unmistakably Midwestern accent drawls from behind me, effectively scaring the sweat off my bare shoulders. 

A shriek escapes from my lips as I teeter preciously on the wood chair and my hands lose their grip on the white doorframe. The rubber of my flip flop doesn’t provide much traction and my body pitches sideways. In just a second I’ll crash against the deck floor and I’ll spend the summer recovering physically instead of gaining back my old– 

Sturdy muscular arms slide around my waist and yank me against an equally firm chest. “Woah, there. I didn’t mean to scare you.” The masculine voice has a smile behind it. 

“Probably shouldn’t go sneaking up on someone then,” I mutter once I catch my breath and untangle myself from his grasp. He chuckles at my retort, a rich baritone that makes me feel like shivering. 

When I’m a step or two back I’m nearly breathless again, but this time for completely different reasons. 

Sturdy was one way to describe his muscular grasp, but now that I have a full frontal view of him, I see my mistake. He’s perfect. Thick arms with nicely defined muscles that don’t bulge too aggressively beneath his white T-shirt, a broad chest, trim waist with low riding blue exercise shorts. And that’s just his body. Bright white teeth gleam at me from behind a broad smile. Thick, dark curly hair begs to have fingers run through it and he has coffee colored eyes framed by long lashes most girls want desperately. 

He’s a combination of sultry sex appeal and mischievous intentions as displayed by the twist of his lips. Less than one minute in his presence and I’m practically swooning. 

“Who are you?” I blurt out. 

With a smirk, he crosses his arms across the planes of chest. “Shouldn’t I be asking the questions, Ms. Breaking and Entering?”

About the Author:

Olivia Luck lives in the middle of America with her loving husband and her obsession with writing. She wrote her first romance novel at age eight. When she’s not reading, editing, or writing, you can find her in the kitchen learning to cook. Olivia loves to travel and spend time with her family. 

Get in touch with Olivia, she adores emails: olivialuckauthor@gmail.com

Social Links:  
Twitter  Facebook  Goodreads 

Buy Links:

Amazon US Amazon UK  Amazon CA 

Tour Coordinator:
promotionsbutton with TRIM









Saturday, August 30, 2014

#REVIEW - Only Pretend by @NoraFlite 4 STARS

Only PretendOnly Pretend by Nora Flite
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

He gives me things, but every gift is meant to torment.
ONLY PRETEND is not your typical romance. It’s dark-ish, but not terribly disturbing. Disclaimer: I read a lot of dark romance novels, so “dark and disturbing” are relative, but I definitely think it would be a great starter book for someone considering diving into the realm of the dark side of romance – it is totally delicious!

Celeste pretty much hates her life. Desperate to prove her ex-boyfriend wrong and show him she is not the boring, unmotivated person he sees when he looks at her, she bleaches her brown hair blonde and heads to Vegas.

When Celeste recklessly follows a stranger to bed, she wakes up in a foreign land surrounded by strangers and is forced into a life of sexual submission and held captive as she is prepared to be sold on the Black Market of human trafficking.

Leonide is beautiful and charming and totally dangerous. He has spent his life luring unsuspecting women to his bed only to “turn ‘em and burn ‘em” – turn them into what his buyers desire and burn them by selling them to (sometimes) evil and sadistic men.

When Leonide captured Celeste, he had no idea how she would change is life. . .

Celeste keeps her sanity in captivity by pretending her new life is nothing but a dream. Embracing Leonide’s unusual sexual proclivities leaves her conflicted and torn between what is right and what is very, very wrong.
Fuck—Celeste, I scolded myself, do not, for even a second, think of his presence as a gift. Nothing about him is a reward! 
But without him, what did I have? No food, no water, nothing existed but me and my painful awareness of how little I could do. I was trapped whether he was next to me or miles away. As long as Leonide had me... it didn't matter where he was.

I was absolutely terrified that ONLY PRETEND would leave me hanging, but YAY! It didn’t! Please note that ONLY PRETEND contains elements that may be off-putting to some readers, such as, captivity, forced seduction, humiliation and some violence. If these are elements that you are not comfortable with, please proceed with caution, but if you can handle it, then go for it, it’s a great story that ends on a happy note – maybe she escapes or maybe she finds happiness in her new life. To discover what “happily ever after” means in this story, you’ll just have to read it to find out!



#REVIEW - What I Really Learned in College 4 STARS @SexyAddison

What I Really Learned in College (With Honors, #1)What I Really Learned in College by Addison Winters
My rating: 4 of 5 stars



WHAT I REALLY LEARNED IN COLLEGE is well worth the price tag and more.  At only $0.99, I can promise you will not be disappointed!

Divorcee, Alex Rose is every boy’s wet dream. She’s a cougar with 2 young children and she’s determined to take charge of her life after discovering that her husband has been getting freaky with another woman. Taking the bull by the horns, she decides to go back to college and what she finds there is more fulfilling than anything she ever dreamed. Not only does she enrich her mind in her quest for that degree she has always dreamed about, but she also snags a delicious, 21 year-old, boy-toy and enriches her sex life too!

Boy-toy, Mason Brooks is hot and it’s no wonder the ladies love him – his wavy blonde hair and bright blue eyes combined with dimples and charm, yep, he’s definitely got a panty-melting look about him!


BUT! Alex came to school to learn and earn a degree and not to play house with this sexy young buck… The temptation proves to be too great and Alex succumbs to Mason’s powers of persuasion. Pheromones are flowing, clothes are flying, things are getting hot and heavy and BAM! WHAMP, Whamp, whamp… it’s over before it began and it was mind-blowing - for him… Sucked for her… Maybe it was first time jitters…
Our kisses came quick and heated, our arms embracing, our hands groping. I could not get enough of him. I wanted him so badly, but I had to slow down. I didn’t want another debauched sexual escapade as before. I could only hope that his stamina would improve with time and experience. And perhaps with a few pointed lessons, his ability to give head would improve as well. I did not believe I could stand another episode like before without screaming at him for being so bad at oral.

Okay, so maybe it wasn’t first time jitters. Nope, sadly, this young man is NOT a natural in the bedroom. He is desperately in need of some love lessons, but how on earth do you tell someone that they suck in the sack without totally devastating them? Alex has been around long enough to know that you can’t continue to do things exactly the same over and over again and expect different results… That is called insanity.
So teach me.” A sly smile spread across his lips. “I’m your eager student. I want to make you happy.” He edged his way back up to me, kissed me gently and whispered, “I want to make you scream.”
“Have you ever made a woman scream doing that?” Curiosity got the best of me.

WHAT I REALLY LEARNED IN COLLEGE was very entertaining and it’s perfect if you enjoy romance reads where the older woman snags a younger man. I loved that the hero, Mason, needed to be taught – most twenty-something men need a little direction in the bedroom and although I quite enjoy book where the boys are “Sex Gods” from the get-go, that’s not generally the case in real life.

WARNING: THERE IS A CLIFFHANGER! Aaahhh yes, the dreaded cliffhanger and I am not sure when the next installment is due out, but you can bet your sweet little hiney that I will be jumping right on it when it’s available. I think it is worth mentioning that the cliffhanger, as much as it pained me, wasn’t THAT terrible, but it definitely left me wanting more! Get it! Read it! Tell me what you think! I hope you love it!


✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.


4 STAR #REVIEW and #GIVEAWAY: What Doesn't Destroy Us by @M_N_FORGY



What Doesn't Destroy Us by M.N.Forgy

Description:


When Dani's sheltered life is turned upside down by her mother's secrets, she finds protection with her estranged outlaw father. Against all warnings, she falls for bad boy biker, Shadow. He is beast and beauty sealed in a leather cut with a gun holster. Can Dani learn to live within the Club rules? Is she more like her father than she could imagine?

Shadow has grown up among drug addicts, whores and murderers. The only family he's ever trusted has been the Devil's Dust motorcycle club. He will do anything for a brother; even kill. In fact, killing is so easy, he's made a career of it. His one regret is not being able to kill his own worthless mother. When Dani shows up with her provocative temper and innocent charm, Shadow begins to question his violent lifestyle. But can he trust her with his demons?
Sex.
Blood.
Betrayal.
Will Dani and Shadow let family ties destroy them?


Review:
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One badass biker, one sheltered virgin with a dark side, and one too many secrets combine for a sexy, exhilarating read.

Never understanding why her mother resents her yet won’t let her go, Dani has lived a life of wants and unfulfilled desires. Everything she’s ever cared about, her mother has made sure to take from her. Yet that same mother who is never satisfied with Dani refuses to allow her to move out and start her own life. When she’s woken in the middle of the night and uprooted from the only life she’s ever known, she never expects their next stop will be a motorcycle club where she finally meets her father and the reason her mother has always despised her. Finally Dani is able to understand where she comes from and why she has always had a little bit of darkness inside her threatening to erupt.

Shadow grew up with a druggie for a mother and it wasn’t until the motorcycle club took him in that he finally had a purpose. He has no problem flirting with the gorgeous girl from a different world until he realizes her father is his president. He is forced to choose between his loyalty to the club and his desire for the first woman to ever get under his skin.

But Dani’s father, Bull, isn’t the only one trying to keep Dani and Shadow apart and they have no idea just how far people will go until it’s too late. Shadow has to figure out if Dani is worth the struggle or if she’d only leave him when she learned all his secrets. Dani has to decide who she really takes after, her cold mother or her outlaw father.

There’s something about a sexy bad boy that gets me every time and Shadow the biker was no exception. I also have to admit that this was one cliffhanger I didn’t see coming but I thoroughly appreciated. WHAT DOESN’T DESTROY US still gives plenty of story so the cliffhanger won’t leave you unsatisfied, just wanting for more. My complaints would be that the sex scenes, though hot, were a little corny for me in some of the words chosen for anatomy. I prefer blunt versus flowery descriptions to keep me in the moment and the words seemed a little old-fashioned for the very current storyline. I also felt like Shadow was a bit too sentimental too fast when it came to Dani, but maybe that’s just because I like my bad boys with some serious edge. If they fall too fast I start to doubt that they were ever bad to begin with. Also, I got a little antsy in the middle; I started to wonder where the story was going but I have to admit, M.N. Forgy definitely salvaged that with a rock solid ending. All in all I thought the positives far outweighed the negatives and I am very excited to see what happens in THE SCARS THAT DEFINE US.

THE DEVIL’S DUST series promises a dangerous combination of sexy bikers, obstacles, and darkness and I encourage anyone who enjoys motorcycle clubs to join this new adventure.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.


Enter to Win! 


Excerpt:

About the Author:
M.N. Forgy was raised in Missouri where she still lives with her family. She's a soccer mom by day and a saucy writer by night. M.N. Forgy started writing at a young age but never took it seriously until years later, as a stay-at-home mom, she opened her laptop and started writing again. As a role model for her children, she felt she couldn't live with the "what if" anymore and finally took a chance on her character's story. So, with her glass of wine in hand and a stray Barbie sharing her seat, she continues to create and please her fans.Books:
What Doesn't Destroy Us (Devils Dust Book One)
The Scars That Define Us ( Devils Dust Book Two) Releasing October 31st

Social Links:  
Website  Twitter  Facebook  Goodreads 

Buy Links:

Amazon Amazon AU  Amazon UK  Smashwords  ● B&N  ● iTunes

Pre-Order The Scars That Define Us (10/31/14):
Amazon US

Friday, August 29, 2014

4 STAR #REVIEW and #GIVEAWAY: Debt Inheritance by @PepperWinters



DEBT INHERITANCE by PEPPER WINTERS

Description:


“I own you. I have the piece of paper to prove it. It’s undeniable and unbreakable. You belong to me until you’ve paid off your debts.”

Nila Weaver’s family is indebted. Being the first born daughter, her life is forfeit to the first born son of the Hawks to pay for sins of ancestors past. The dark ages might have come and gone, but debts never leave. She has no choice in the matter.

She is no longer free.

Jethro Hawk receives Nila as an inheritance present on his twenty-ninth birthday. Her life is his until she’s paid off a debt that’s centuries old. He can do what he likes with her—nothing is out of bounds—she has to obey.

There are no rules. Only payments.

A modern day Dark Erotic Romance


Review:
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Pepper Winters first caught my interest when I saw reviews of her TEARS OF TESS novel. So when I heard she’d written a new book, DEBT INHERITANCE, I decided to jump on the reading bandwagon and give her a go! I still haven’t read TEARS OF TESS, so I can’t compare—but I remember hearing that some people thought that it was on the lighter side of the dark reads genre. I have to say, if anyone says the same of DEBT INHERITANCE, then I don’t want to know what is truly dark. DEBT INHERITANCE is excruciating, agonizing, and unimaginable and I can’t fathom being able to make it through anything much scarier. It was awful—but the good kind of awful where you can’t put it down or look away either.

Nila may have been born into a rich and powerful family, but she hasn’t exactly led the easiest of lives. Her mother abandoned the family when Nila was in her teens and Nila never quite let go of the pain of losing someone she loved so much. Her father and brother took a very protective role with Nila and never let her date or be in the company of men without one of them present. On top of that, she’s always struggled with the inherent need to prove herself outside of her family’s success. And of course there’s the fact that she possesses merely a fraction of her brother’s looks and beauty. But despite the negatives, she’s also known what it’s like to have an unbreakable bond with her brother, Vaughn. He may be protective but it only comes from a place of love and adoration. Nila has always known the love and support of her father and brother, never had to doubt their devotion.

Jethro, on the other hand, has been raised under his dad’s iron fist. There is no room for weakness, backtalk, or sympathy in his family and he has always known his role in the Hawk family. When his father tells him it’s time to earn his inheritance, he knows exactly what must be done. Nila’s ancestors once signed a contract with Jethro’s family, and it’s time to collect. The contract is unbreakable and demands that Nila become Jethro’s property until he deems her family’s debt has been paid.

I thought DEBT INHERITANCE was well written and the perfect blurred line of dark and steamy. Alternating between Jethro and Nila’s perspectives added extra complexity and depth to the story. Jethro is cold, dominating, and unyielding. I kept waiting for him to show some compassion for Nila, but he is adamant in his belief that she must pay her family’s debt. It was horrifying and painful to read. When I read from Jethro’s perspective, I could see a glimmer of hope that his feelings for Nila would grow and he wouldn’t follow through with his family’s demands. But he’s so resolute in his beliefs that Nila never sees the small glimmers of heart that the reader gets to experience. I am truly wondering how he could possibly be redeemable in the sequel, FIRST DEBT, if it takes Jethro any longer to show Nila compassion. We’re promised a happily ever after but I can’t fathom how it will be with Jethro after all he’s done and allowed to be done to Nila. Can she really ever look past their beginning?

I can promise one thing—I’m determined to find out. DEBT INHERITANCE was seductive even as it was cruel and I felt depraved for even finding it sexy. I loved seeing Jethro softening for Nila but I hated that Nila never got to see it. After the agony I experienced in DEBT INHERITANCE, I’m desperate for a happy conclusion in the sequel.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.


Enter to Win! 

• Signed Swag Pack (2 Winners)
• ebook of Debt Inheritance (5 Winners)

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Direct Link to Giveaway

Excerpt:

Jethro's POV

I stood up slowly, clicking my tongue. “Ah, ah, ah, Ms. Weaver. Don’t take that tone with me. You’re the failure. You’re the prisoner. You take what I give you. You do not assume to have any say or authority. That includes listening to everything I deem important to tell you.” Ghosting to a stop in front of her, I murmured, “Is that quite understood?”

I flexed my muscles, welcoming back the soothing chillness of control. I hadn’t liked stepping outside my confines of civility. Things got messy when silence was disrupted. Things got rushed when tempers rose and curses flowed.


And I didn’t want to rush her undoing. I wanted to savour it. Devour it.

About the Author:

Pepper Winters wears many roles. Some of them include writer, reader, sometimes wife. She loves dark, taboo stories that twist with your head. The more tortured the hero, the better, and she constantly thinks up ways to break and fix her characters. Oh, and sex... her books have sex. 

She loves to travel and has an amazing, fabulous hubby who puts up with her love affair with her book boyfriends. 

Her Dark Erotica books include:
Tears of Tess (Monsters in the Dark #1)
Quintessentially Q (Monsters in the Dark #2)

Her Grey Romance books include:
Destroyed

Social Links:  
Website  Twitter  Facebook  Goodreads  Pinterest 

Buy Links:
Amazon ● Amazon UK  iTunes Kobo  

Tour Coordinator:

Thursday, August 21, 2014

4 STAR #Review: Ricardo by @MaritaAHansen


Ricardo by Marita A Hansen

Description:



On a Mediterranean Island run by mafia, the Santini brothers are fighting a war against the Landi family, who are targeting their loved ones. After his fiancée is murdered, Ricardo, the eldest of the brothers, starts spiraling out of control, his violent nature leading him down a path that could rip his family apart. But, when two women walk into his life...

His first love—Bianca D’Angelo

And an assassin from the Viper Sisterhood

...he finds himself pulled into a world of espionage, intrigue, and seduction, where he'll win his family's safety and the woman of his dreams—or lose everything.


Review:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Italian mafia, fiery women, and plots of revenge combine for an action-packed storyline in Ricardo.

Ricardo is the oldest of the Santini brothers and since his father is no longer able to lead a mafia war, he takes his rightful place as head of the family and vows to protect his family at all costs. When his ex comes back into his life needing refuge, he’s torn on how to protect her without exposing his biggest weakness.

Bianca left Ricardo years ago when she saw his awful temper, but her recently deceased husband was far more violent and cruel. When she makes herself a target by accidentally poisoning the wrong man, she’s forced to seek refuge with the man she never forgot, Ricardo. But years have been hard on Ricardo and his temper has only grown worse as he now battles a rage disorder that has left him without his sense of touch after his efforts to aid his disorder with an experimental drug failed.

Bianca isn’t the only one with feelings for Ricardo either, as Ivy, a Black Viper undercover as Ricardo’s maid, does everything in her power to get into his home and then into his bed. Can Ricardo risk exposing his weakness by pursuing his feelings for Bianca? Or is he right that she deserves better and he should be with someone more like the Black Viper desperate to bed him? Will any of it matter if the Landi succeed in their vendetta mission?

The first chapter of Ricardo had me wondering if I’d fallen for a strong synopsis that hid a weak storyline. But before I knew it the characters had me captivated and I was caught up in the love stories, the sexy love scenes, and the action-filled plot. I even found myself rooting for the Black Vipers when the story was given from their perspective. I couldn’t find a single unredeemable character; except maybe the Concetta (Ricardo’s mom), and I bet even she has her reasons if I were to hear the story from her perspective. The story alternated perspectives between Ricardo, Bianca, and Ivy and the switch was seamless. I blew through the story and found myself hoping the other Santini brothers will have a story of their own. I’m shocked to find I’m most intrigued by Brando, the most unlovable of the bunch. He seems like there’s a lot hidden behind his cold eyes and I’m desperate to unravel his story.

Marita A. Hansen combines fully dimensional characters with an exciting plot for a fantastic result in Ricardo. I only hope the remaining Santini brothers are as irresistible as their oldest brother, Ricardo.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.



BUY IT NOW! - Amazon