Thursday, April 24, 2014

#Review: Vital Sign by @JLMacbooks 4 Stars

Vital Sign by J.L. Mac
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A beautiful and heartbreaking story of love, loss, grief, and second chances.

Sadie met the love of her life at five years old. But after only a few years of wedded bliss, she lost Jake suddenly and tragically. Two years later, she’s still not ready to say goodbye or even fully allow herself to grieve because that would mean accepting the finality of the situation. Her family insists she reach out to some of the organ recipients in the hopes that it will help her find some peace. Sadie feels nothing but anger and hate for anyone who benefitted from Jake’s death, but she agrees to appease her concerned family.

Sadie is prepared to hate the organ recipients, but she never prepared herself for Zander McBride. She certainly never expected to feel attraction. She is horrified and guilt-ridden but she can’t seem to deny the fact that she and Zander connect in a way she hasn’t felt in a long time. But she can’t let Zander into her heart unless she’s willing to let Jake go, and Sadie hasn’t even dealt with her grief, much less gotten to a place where she can move on.

VITAL SIGN is an emotional read. I generally avoid books that deal with the death of a spouse or child; it’s too horrifying and I don’t like to think about it, much less read about it. But I also can be a bit of a cover whore, and Vital Signs really drew me in with its beautiful cover. I decided to give it a try, and despite the overwhelming sadness I experienced reading about Sadie’s journey, it also had a lot of hope and love in the story. If anyone could be worth working through the grief, it would be Zander. He was open and caring and above all, understanding. He had his own dark past that made him feel less than worthy of Sadie but it didn’t stop him from giving it everything he had.

VITAL SIGN did a great job of not glossing over the pain of losing a significant other—Sadie was unapologetically broken. If you’re a fan of emotional stories with a silver lining, you’ll enjoy VITAL SIGN.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.


BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Monday, April 21, 2014

Cover Reveal and Guest Post: How We Deal With Gravity by @TheGingerScott


How We Deal With Gravity by Ginger Scott
Available July 2014

add-to-goodreads-button31

When her son Max was diagnosed with autism, Avery Abbot’s life changed forever. Her husband left, and her own dreams became a distant fantasy—always second to fighting never-ending battles to make sure Max was given opportunity, love and respect. Finding someone to fight along her side wasn’t even on her list, and she’d come to terms with the fact that she could never be her own priority again. 


But a familiar face walking into her life in the form of 25-year-old Mason Street had Avery’s heart waging a war within. Mason was a failure. When he left his hometown five years ago, he was never coming back—it was only a matter of time before his records hit the billboard charts. Women, booze and rock-n-roll—that was it for him. But it seemed fate had a different plan in mind, and with a dropped record contract, little money and nowhere to go, Mason turned to the only family that ever made him feel home. 


Avery loved Mason silently for years—until he broke her heart…completely. But time and life have a funny way of changing people, and sometimes second chances are there for a reason. Could this one save them both?

Guest Post with Ginger Scott:

Where do you come up with the ideas for the stories you write about?


It all starts with the characters. They paint the picture for every story. Where would this person live? What would he sound like? What kind of clothing does she wear? Is he rich or poor? Is she kind and generous or selfish and stubborn?


Once I have a good character in my head, I imagine them in a situation, and my story is born from that. For example, with Waiting on the Sidelines, I wanted to write a real tomboy—one that girls could really identify with. I carried Nolan around for years, perfecting her nuances—I probably formed Nolan more than I have any other character—pulling apart the physical things about her, like her appearance, and mashing it with the material things like her possessions, clothes and cars. And then I threw her into a tailspin—I put her in high school. Even the most sure-of-herself girl can become full of anxiety and doubt in the face of hormones, judgment, first-love and heartbreak. And that story grew from there. I wanted to watch Nolan navigate it all—and I wanted it to be, above all else, REAL.


It was the same with Blindness. I thought of the character of Cody first—a beautiful man, broken inside and out. I wanted him to have the sex appeal, but not be so aware of it—one of those quiet guys, just plugging away and trying to get by. Cody, a former motocross rider, overcomes a physical injury, and when I thought about what might make him fight to be whole again, I realized it would take finding someone just like him, in many ways. And that’s where Charlie and Cody’s love story was born.


My most recent novel, How We Deal With Gravity, was born in the same way; only the inspiration came from a subject I care deeply about—autism. I volunteer for an autism organization, and have been touched by it personally in many ways. Through my work, I’ve interviewed countless families affected by it, and I’ve learned that these people are the strongest I know. Avery’s character came first—a single mom raising a child with autism, putting herself second…always. Every inch of Avery flooded me quickly—she was strong and beautiful, but tired—so very tired. And she was human, and doubted her strength constantly. I think more than any story I’ve written, I wanted Avery to have someone sweep her off her feet—I felt like she deserved it. But Mason isn’t the perfect knight and shining armor—at least not right out of the gate. And when I finished figuring out what made Mason Mason, inside and out, their story was something incredibly natural.


I’ve been a journalist for most of my professional life, and I’ve been conditioned to find those stories that are around us—everywhere. Everyone has a story—it’s one of the first things they teach you in J-school, and I’ve uncovered, interviewed and told some amazing stories just by asking those who are willing to share. My books work the same way, but that inner dialogue all takes place in my head, a constant parade of characters all waiting for their stories to be told.

Sunday, April 20, 2014

#Review: Uncovering You 2: Submission by @Scarl_Edwards 5 Stars

Uncovering You 2: Submission by Scarlett Edwards
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What kind of sick, masochistic torture is this? No really, I want to know. It’s bad enough that I’m experiencing Lilly’s torture as if it were my own. But I feel even more abused because I can’t just sit down and endure one night of abuse in order to find out what happens, I have to take it in small, spread out doses because this is part of a serial. If the goal is to make the reader feel more attuned to Lilly’s plight, then Scarlett Edwards has accomplished her goal. I really could feel Lilly’s despair. But seeing as how it’s only been a few weeks and I had to struggle to remember Lilly’s background story, I’m still inclined to think this would be better combined into one novel. (I have a feeling Lilly's past might end up being an important part of what's happening right now but I can’t recall the specific details anymore.)

In UNCOVERING YOU 2, Lilly has agreed to sign Jeremy Stonehart’s contract and is now learning exactly what that entails (only, of course, in Jeremy’s time and at his whim). Jeremy comes across as truly sadistic and I cringed at so many things he said and did. I completely empathized with Lilly’s actions and reactions. I was completely enthralled in the story despite the emotional pain I endured in reading it.

I gave UNCOVERING YOU 2: SUBMISSION 5 stars not because I loved it, because I kind of hated it in that *you took me to a really dark place and I hated being there but it was so well-written and so perfectly told that I couldn’t help but be sucked in* kind of way. So okay, maybe that sounds like I did love it; I was just so caught up in the story that I was repulsed by it’s darkness because it felt entirely too real. If you want a small piece of advice, I don’t recommend reading this as a bedtime story—you won’t like the dreams you have as a result! I don’t even want to know the darkness Ms. Edwards had to tap into to write this story or to create someone like Jeremy, but I’m dying to see what happens and more importantly, why. If you’re in the mood for a truly dark story, this serial is the one for you. I will be a glutton for punishment waiting impatiently for May 10th when UNCOVERING YOU #3 comes out.

**On a bright note, each subsequent book in the UNCOVERING YOU series is set to be released 20 days after the one before it, so at least the wait isn't too long between each book.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews

BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Blog Tour #Review and #Giveaway: Scare Crow by @Julie_Hockley 4 Stars



Scare Crow by Julie Hockley

Description:


Nineteen-year-old Emily Sheppard is losing her sanity.

Ever since her mob king boyfriend, Cameron Hillard, abandoned her for her own good, Emmy has been attempting to move on with her charmed college student life as if nothing happened. Now rejected from the underworld and left grieving over CameronΓÇÖs alleged death.

Emmy realizes she belongs nowhere. Worse yet, she is now keeping a dangerous secret.

After just a short time with Emily, Cameron has lost control over his world. As he miserably attempts to return to what is left of his life and unravel the mess he has made of the underworld, EmilyΓÇÖs hate turns to desperation. She needs to kill the kingpins responsible for CameronΓÇÖs death before they come looking for her. As Cameron secretly observes Emily, he has no idea of the danger he has placed her inΓÇöor that it may already be too late for him to save her.

Scare Crow is a tale of revenge, terror, and love as Emmy and Cameron embark on separate journeys to face enemies, correct past mistakes, and find their way to their destinies.





Review:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The most anticipated abduction sequel of 2014 finally finds its way to readers’ hands in the form of SCARE CROW. Julie Hockley had a huge task in front of her with some of the most obsessed fans *raises hand* chomping at the bit for any update on Cameron and Emily’s story.

CROW’S ROW ended with Cameron faking his own death so Emily can lead a normal life—one without danger, threats, and drug lords. What he didn’t realize was just how far Emily would go to seek revenge on those who took Cameron from her. Emily is determined to plunge herself back into the underworld to bring down those who wronged her.

SCARE CROW is told in alternating points of view, switching between Emmy and Cameron, which I thought was absolutely perfect and necessary for the progression of the story. By reading from Cameron’s point of view, the reader really gets to see the business side of Cameron—the dark side of Cameron—and it only made him more real. All my favorite characters returned for SCARE CROW (except Rocco of course) and the reader even gets more insight into Emily’s brother.

At the end of CROW'S ROW, I had full confidence that Emily would find a way into the drug world and cause a lot of trouble. But her first few attempts at retribution had me shaking my head in dumbfounded horror. By the time she finally pulled together an idea worthy of her opponents, I had serious doubts as to whether she could have come up with such an elaborate and complicated plan.

Cameron, on the other hand, I believed. He vacillated between playing hero and going off on suicidal missions, but I thought that was a good representation of where he was at after giving up Emmy. He couldn’t have her and life wasn’t the same without her; he wasn’t the same without her.

I recently found out SCARE CROW is book 2 of a trilogy and I’m immensely grateful for that. While SCARE CROW’s ending left me in a much better place than CROW’S ROW, there’s still so much more I’d like to see. Julie Hockley has created an incredibly elaborate underworld with characters worthy of loving and I’m just not done experiencing life and love with them!

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.




Enter to Win! 

  • 3x Signed Paperbacks of Scare Crow
  • 5x Ebook of Scare Crow (any platform)
  • Stunning Crow Cuff Bracelet

About the Author:
A former germaphobe and clean-freak turned mother of two, Julie collects enough tears and snot in a month to recreate Slimer Monster from Ghostbusters. Other than playing devoted wife and mama, Julie is the funniest person in the room (according to the 3 year-old and 2 year-old in said room) and can build the most awesome Lego rocket ship youΓÇÖve ever set your eyes on (according to her). Oh, and she has a full time career and has also written a bestselling novel. Superhero, or just downright insane?




Social Links:  



Buy Links:







Tour Coordinator:







Friday, April 18, 2014

Blog Tour #Review and #Giveaway: Hothouse Flower 5 Stars by Krista & Becca Ritchie (@KBRitchie)

Hothouse Flower BANNER



91qCjtQM39L._SL1500_Hothouse Flower by Krista & Becca Ritchie

Description:


Ryke Meadows, meet Daisy Calloway ... she’s all grown up.

Twenty-five-year-old Ryke Meadows knows he’s hard to love. With a billion-dollar inheritance, a track-star resume, and an alpha-male personality—he redefines the term likable asshole. But he’s not living to make friends. Or enemies. He just wants to free climb three of the toughest mountains in Yosemite without drama or interruption. And then he receives a distressed call from a girl in Paris—a girl that he has never been allowed to have. Daisy Calloway is eighteen. Finally. With her newfound independence, she can say goodbye to her overbearing mother and continue her modeling career. Next stop, Paris. Fashion Week begins with a bang, and Daisy uncovers the ugly reality of the industry. She wants to prove to her family that she can live on her own, but when everything spirals out of control, she turns to Ryke to keep her secrets. As Daisy struggles to make sense of this new world and her freedom, she pushes the limits and fearlessly rides the edge. Ryke knows there’s deep hurt beneath every impulsive action. He must keep up with Daisy, and if he lets her go, her favorite motto—“live as if you’ll die today”—may just come true.


***Authors' Note*** Hothouse Flower is a spin-off of the Addicted series. Kiss the Sky is required before reading, and we strongly recommend reading the Addicted series before this spin-off.xx


add-to-goodreads-button31



Review:

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

5 Refreshing and Completely Different Series Stars

I can’t get over how different the Calloway Sisters series is from others I’ve read. While each standalone book focuses on a different sister, Krista and Becca Ritchie still carefully maintain the personalities that make each character so special. HOTHOUSE FLOWER may be Daisy and Ryke’s story, but Lily and Loren and Rose and Connor are still very present and very real throughout the book. Just because this isn’t their story, they don’t become flat characters—they are still very much fleshed out and distinctly alive.

While readers are not required to have read Lily’s Addicted books before starting HOTHOUSE FLOWER, they are supposed to have read KISS THE SKY (Rose and Connor’s story). I would strongly recommend that as well, since some of Daisy’s traumatic experiences start in KISS THE SKY. Also, I think it’s really helpful to get to know Rose and Connor individually before trying to understand their dynamic as a couple.

Despite being introverted and quiet, Lily has required the majority of her family’s attention recently. Her sex addiction put the Calloway sisters in a new level of limelight and Daisy became an adult while living under the media’s scrutinizing magnifying glass. Ryke seemed to be the only one who could keep up with Daisy’s wild and energetic personality and as the only other single person in their group of six, became the obvious choice for Daisy’s protector. But as much as the Calloways relied on Ryke to look after Daisy, there was always one understood rule. He could never fall for her. But Daisy isn’t a child anymore and lately she’s been suffering the repercussions of growing up too quickly, and no one in her family seems to realize just how bad it’s gotten for her. Daisy goes to extreme measures to make sure she’s always the positive, light sister so no one sees the darkness hidden underneath. Ryke is the only one she never lies to, and the only one who knows just how scared she is.

If Ryke doesn’t put himself out there for Daisy, she may not survive. But if he does, he could lose his brother forever. HOTHOUSE FLOWER is so much more than just a story about Ryke and Daisy; it’s the story of all the Calloway sisters. But first and foremost, it is Ryke and Daisy’s love story—and wow, was it a hot one. I always knew I’d love Ryke with his dark, brooding looks and filthy mouth. But I never knew just how much he hid beneath that sexy exterior and I loved every inch of it. I loved his complicated relationship with Lo and the pain he felt from his relationship with his parents. Most of all, I loved his passion and devotion to Daisy. And while I have next to nothing in common with Daisy, I loved experiencing her side of the story and her inner struggles. Don’t miss this amazingly well-written series and these unique and entertaining characters.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.


Enter to Win! 

• $20.00 Amazon Gift Card
• (1) Signed Paperback copy of Hothouse Flower

a Rafflecopter giveaway


About the Author:
150219_201945006672435_704378981_nKrista Ritchie has a clone...or someone who looks exactly like her. If she's not writing books with her twin sister, she's pouring over entertainment news and ingesting copious amounts of pop culture. She likes tennis, that thing called the TV, and beating Becca (her clone) on Sega Genesis. She created YA Book Exchange to combat her book buying addiction and started Nawanda Files, a YA Book Blog that features books into movies news, to share her love for all things bookish. Oh, and she does something called science. Whatever that is. Krista & Becca Ritchie write New Adult books that make you cringe, gasp, and go ooh-la-la. (If you do that sort of thing.) They are currently working on the spin-offs and final books in the Addicted series.

Social Links:  
Facebook  Twitter  Pinterest  


Buy Links:
Amazon US Amazon UK  B&N  Kobo  

Recommended Series Reading Order:
Series order

Addicted to You (Addicted #1) Ricochet (Addicted #1.5) <--- The main characters meet here. Addicted for Now (Addicted #2) Kiss the Sky (Spin-Off)(Calloway Sisters #1) Hothouse Flower (Spin-Off)(Calloway Sisters #2) Thrive (Addicted #2.5) Addicted After All (Addicted #3)

Tour Coordinator:
BTSPRprofile-1






Thursday, April 17, 2014

#Review: Tainted Touch by @LucyVMorgan @DameMargo

Tainted TouchTainted Touch by Lucy V. Morgan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Tainted Touch” is a well-written book full of witty dialogue, which is guaranteed to make you laugh out loud. It's also a book of contradictions. There are humorous lines almost every other page, but these are balanced by some serious angst. The first half of the book is appropriate for a Young Adult audience as there is tremendous drama over holding hands and the first kiss, while the second half of the book includes several, explicit sex scenes. Much of the book focuses on the romance between Cait and Art, but a literary subplot contemplating the meaning of life is also included. Sometimes the overly complex plots gets in it's own way, but overall “Tainted Touch” is a fun, rewarding read.

The heroine, Cait, describes herself as “more conflicted than your average bag of snakes” and that's a good description. She was mentally abused by her ex-boyfriend whom she hilariously describes as a “deluded scrotclown”. The scars linger and effect her ability to not only form new relationships, but even to simply touch other people. Cait is supported by a wonderful cast of friends who add lots of life and laughs to the story. It's easy to sympathize with her struggles, while simultaneously rooting for her to get her head out of her ass.

The plot doesn't fall victim to the usual clichés, and Cait's issues with self worth seem all too real. However, the book is a bit slow, and seems longer than the advertised 336 pages. At one point Cait says, “We've spent so long on the cusp of kissing that sometimes, I forget that we haven't.” I wanted to jump up and down and yell, “Yes, I know. Now get on with it already!” The author was making a point about Cait having trouble being touched, but the build up definitely drug on too long. The sex scenes were good once we finally got to them, but the explicit language was like a slap upside the head with a wet flounder because it was such an abrupt change from the page after page of earlier turmoil over even touching lips.

The hero, Fist Candy - also known as Art, is a mystery for much of the book. He's the hot, new massage therapist whom Cait lusts after at work. When he returns her interest, she's shocked. Art has his own demons though, and his difficult history is revealed as their romance progresses. He's a true blue kind of guy though, and definitely qualifies as an upgrade in the boyfriend department.

This review would not be complete without mentioning the cake. It's practically a character in the book. Most of the characters are students, and while their world should revolve around studying, it mostly revolves around cake and Instagram. Vanilla, chocolate, and everything in between are represented. If you make it through this book without falling victim to a cupcake, you're a better woman than I. Be prepared.


✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Guest Reviewer, Dame Margo




Sunday, April 13, 2014

#Review: Shame on You by @TaraSivec @stptabby 5 Stars

Shame on You (Fool Me Once, #1)Shame on You by Tara Sivec
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Well shame on me for not reading this one sooner! I simply adore Tara Sivec’s insanely witty humor, so going into SHAME ON YOU I knew this one was going to be one fun read. With lines like “She needs to be waterboarded with pasta and potatoes” and crazy things like desks covered in penis Post-it notes, you can’t help but uncontrollably laugh out loud while reading one of her books. SHAME ON YOU is the first in her new series Fool Me Once that will feature three friends and their misadventures in private investigation. As I’ve come to expect from Tara, this one was a laugh a minute, but it was also sweet and sexy as well.

Kennedy O’Brien and her friends have all been burned by men, so they ban together to start Fool Me Once Investigations. Kennedy’s husband took off with the nanny while she was serving her country in Afghanistan, so she is mighty bitter towards all things male. She is especially bitter towards the man that betrayed her trust, who was her best friend, Griffin Crawford.

Griffin has been in love with Kennedy for over 18 years, but he knows he betrayed her trust. Now he has the monumental task to gain her forgiveness and get himself out of the friend zone, since she is finally available for the taking after her divorce. With some help from her dad, he has the chance to snag the girl by helping her find an elusive bond jumper. Kennedy is being stubborn and refuses his help, but one thing he knows is she will never refuse a bet. If she wins, she gets to take one solid punch at him for the pain he has caused her, and if he wins…she has to finally go out on a date with him.

The chase is on, but I think this is definitely one bet Kennedy might not be sad to lose when things start to head up. I absolutely loved reading this this insane book full of funny shenanigans, laugh out loud dialogue, and sexual tension so hot that it will melt your e-reader. I think that it might have been a bit on the short side, but I always want more when I love reading a book so much. I am really looking forward to the next two books in this series, and I highly recommend SHAME ON YOU if you are looking for a short funny, sweet, and sexy read.

✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Tabatha



#Review: One Night of Misbehavior by @ShelleyMunro 4 Stars

One Night of MisbehaviorOne Night of Misbehavior by Shelley Munro
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cinderella meets Beauty and the Beast in this modern day fairy tale. Charlotte Dixon has put her entire life on hold as she's been emotionally blackmailed into staying home and taking care of her stepmother's ailing mother. She's also forced to take care of the house and cook meals for her ungrateful step-mother and step-sisters to "contribute to the household" since she's unable to have a regular job and take care of her Gran at the same time.

She meets a sexy masked Zorro at the costume ball her grandmother manipulates her into attending and she shares a night of passion with him after the ball. Then it's back to her mundane life of cooking and cleaning for her family.

Until her grandmother arranges a job interview at Marlborough Media. Then she's confronted with her masked man who's the owner of the company and her potential new boss.

Ashley Marlborough is called "The Beast" by the media because of extensive burn scars he suffered when caught in the fire that killed his mother when he was a child. He's considered a player because he doesn't stay with one woman long, but in reality he doesn't want to be used for his money. He wants to be loved for himself.

Once he starts pursuing Charlotte, he realizes that she isn't interested in his money; she likes him for himself. But she's extremely skittish and highly values her independence since she's been unpaid maid labor for her family for years. And he really has his work cut out for him convincing Charlotte that he's truly interested in committing to her.

I really enjoyed this twist on the Cinderella story. Having the man have to work for the woman's commitment is one of my favorite tropes. And Charlotte made Ash work for it until the very end.


✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Lisa S.




#Review: Enticed by His Forgotten Lover by @maya_banks 4 Stars

Enticed by His Forgotten Lover (Pregnancy & Passion, #1)Enticed by His Forgotten Lover by Maya Banks
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Every woman dreams of the man she’ll fall in love with, the one she’ll settle down with to create a family. We crave that overwhelming feeling of being loved and cared for, but what if he disappears after promising to return to you soon? Would you sit and wait for him or would you go chasing after him? Can things ever be the same after finding out why he never returned and do you want them to be? Or is it better to move on and raise the baby you’re carrying alone.

Bryony made a deal with Rafael to sell the land that has been in her family for years under the verbal agreement that he wouldn’t develop it. Rafael disappeared after this agreement and try as she might she couldn’t contact him. She heads off to New York City to confront him for disappearing. What she discovers is a man that no longer remembers who she is and finds it hard to believe she’s carrying his child. Rafael is intrigued by the story Bryony tells him of how they met and their time together and feels she’s the key to curing his amnesia from his horrific plane crash. Bryony’s worst fear is that he really did lie to her and he never cared about her. Rafael is shocked by the man she continues to describe to him and how they spent their time when he was with her. The man she describes doesn’t sound like him in the slightest, but the more time he spends with her the more he falls for her and knows she’s carrying his child. But what about the land she sold him. Did he really agree to not develop it? Can he keep Bryony without losing the respect of his business partners and friends by halting the resort he has set to be built on the land? Or will it all come crashing down on them when he finally remembers their time together?

Maya Banks makes you fall in love with Rafael and Bryony so quickly that you almost don’t want to know what really happened during their original time together. ENTICED BY HIS FORGOTTEN LOVER makes you hope for a happily ever after from the very beginning. Had it not been somewhat predictable, I could have given this one a full 5 star rating. If you’re looking for something a bit different than your traditional romance then I definitely recommend this one.


✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Reviewer, Leah





#Review: Honey Red 5 Stars @beerwencha2 @stptabby #Menage

Honey RedHoney Red by Liz Crowe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is my favorite type of ménage story, and I have to say that HONEY RED was such a refreshing read. Each of these characters has flaws, but I think that was the beauty of their relationship. Things didn’t just snap easily together, and it took a lot of trial and error to make things work out for these three. I’ve found that so few books now days can evoke emotional reactions out of me, but HONEY RED was able to make me laugh, cry, smile, and make me angry all in one fantastic read.

Ian Donovan is in a slump, and he has spent his life in the shadow of his brother feeling like an overall failure in life. After fate throws him a curveball, he has to make some serious life changes as he heads back to Michigan to help his brother with his new brewery.

Nick Traynor is struggling to live life on a daily basis after being injured in combat and losing Dan…the love of his life. His sister attempts to fix him up with her boyfriend’s brother Ian, and as sparks fly they decide to embark in a purely sexual relationship. Emotions start to get involved, but Nick is fighting his own personal demons though and feels like he is too broken for Ian. But then he meets Hannah, and everything changes.

Hannah Williams has put sexual relationships on the back burner while she finished up her degree. Now she just wants to do her job until she can find something better, but her sexy as sin boss Ian is making things exceedingly difficult when she can’t focus on anything but him. She tries in vain to resist temptation, but she can’t help how drawn she is to Ian. When he takes her as his date to his brother’s wedding, she meets yet another temptation she can’t resist…Ian’s lover Nick.

HONEY RED had loads of angst, but it was also such a sweet story as well. We watch them struggle in vain to keep things strictly sexual as they deal their own personal issues along the way. They have so much chemistry making for some steamy moments in the bedroom, but they also have a lot to work on to make this relationship last. As things quickly heat up, unforeseen consequences just about destroy everything they have together. I loved HONEY RED so much, because it just felt so real to me. I really enjoyed their deeply emotional journey to love, and I have to say that I think this is one of my favorite ménage reads I’ve read. So with all that said, I definitely going to recommend this one to you guys.


✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Tabatha