Friday, April 24, 2015

5 STAR #Review: This is Falling by @TheGingerScott

This is Falling by Ginger Scott
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

THIS IS FALLING. And I just fell something awful for this heartrending and heartwarming story of tragedy, growth, and love.

Rowe has been in hiding for the last two years after a terrible incident left her scarred and hurting. Trauma from the incident leaves her in a constant battle to face her fears or remain in stasis indefinitely. Starting college is Rowe’s attempt to move on but she’s terrified of letting go of those she once valued the most. When Rowe meets Nate, he represents all she could gain by moving forward but also forces her to choose between her past and her future.

From the first page to the last, Ginger Scott had me captivated. Rowe’s internal battles were so real and raw and brought tears to my eyes more than once. Nate’s steadfastness and patience were such an amazing turn on—he couldn’t have been a better hero for this story. Rowe and Nate’s relationship was funny, sweet, and moved at just the right pace. From their first bouts of jealousy to the moment they had to decide if they could really be together, it was an amazing love story.

THIS IS FALLING was the kind of story I couldn’t get enough of and couldn’t put down. It reminded me of everything I liked about Ginger Scott’s writing in WAITING ON THE SIDELINES and GOING LONG and magnified my expectations for all future novels by her. I’m moving right into YOU AND EVERYTHING AFTER in the hopes of continuing on this book high.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews

BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Thursday, April 23, 2015

4 STAR #Review: Burned by @KarenMMoning

Burned by Karen Marie Moning
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Blissful frustration is how I’d describe my state of mind after finishing BURNED. Blissful because every moment of Karen Marie Moning’s Fae world is epic and amazing and I can never get enough. Frustrated because I feel like I just went in a 360 degree turn. I’m basically at the exact same point as when I started BURNED. Did I learn a lot? Sure. Do I know more about Dani and the Nine? Absolutely. But basically it all just set the stage for what promises to be an amazing book #8. Dani is where she needs to be, which trust me, I needed, but I didn’t get any instant gratification and knowing it will be at least a year before I get to read FEVERBORN frustrates me to no end because I want it NOW!!!

BURNED starts off a little choppy because there are multiple perspectives, some from characters we don’t even know. Finally Mac takes over and finishes out the second half of the book while still exploring Dani, Ryodan, and even Barrons’ characters. It was interesting because even though the second half of the book was from Mac’s perspective, it really seemed to be from an objective point of view because it was clear the point was to further explore the other characters’ personalities, not Mac’s. In fact, I never felt as close to Mac in BURNED as I did in her five Fever books, almost as if I didn’t know her like I thought I did.

I’m eager to finally get to the meat of Dani and Ryodan in FEVERBORN. In fact, I’m so anxious I can hardly stand it. I will once again be on pins and needles waiting to see what Ms. Moning writes. Even though BURNED was equal parts wonderful and exasperating, I’m still amazed at the creativity and depth in this series. I can’t think of another series that is so involved and so well-developed. I’m blown away by Karen Marie Moning’s talent and in heady anticipation of her next book!

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews

BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

4 STAR #Review: Reviving Izabel by @JRedmerski

Reviving Izabel by J.A. Redmerski
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Sarai, aka Izabel, returns with a thirst for vengeance in REVIVING IZABEL.

Victor may have left Sarai so she could live a normal life, but Sarai has her own plans and they don’t involve anything resembling ordinary. She sets off under the pretense of a vacation with her best friend and boyfriend only to sneak back into Hamburg’s restaurant. Before long, she’s in over her head and in need of a hero. Victor is forced to face the fact that Sarai won’t be able to lead a simple life whether he’s a part of it or not. He agrees to help train her so that she’s equipped with the proper tools to become an assassin by her own right.

REVIVING IZABEL is an adventurous story of rogue assassins leaving a trail of bodies in their wake as they complete missions and determine who they can trust. The story is exciting, fast-paced, and never had a dull moment. For such a good tale, I had to give the story 4 stars. But the missing star was because Victor and Sarai’s love story took a backseat to their missions. In KILLING SARAI, I’d been sucked in by Sarai and Victor’s chemistry. Victor was such an unlikely hero but that was precisely why I couldn’t get enough of him. In REVIVING IZABEL, I felt like Victor and Sarai were a lot harder to get a read on. They didn’t seem as fleshed out or fully dimensional and I missed the couple I’d fallen in love with.

The concept behind the IN THE COMPANY OF KILLERS series is a great one and I’m excited for Fredrik’s story, THE SWAN & THE JACKAL. I have no idea how Ms. Redmerski will spin Fredrik but I can’t wait to find out.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews

BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Sunday, February 15, 2015

5 STAR #Review: Bold Tricks by @MetalBlonde

Bold Tricks by Karina Halle
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The ultimate love triangle is forced to work together in the final installment in The Artists Trilogy. Ellie, Cameron, and Javier join forces in an attempt to bring down Travis and rescue Gus despite mistrust all-around.

After getting to know Javier intimately in SHOOTING SCARS, I no longer had any misguided feelings of love for him. Karina Halle did the unthinkable in converting this reader from Team Javier to Team Cameron once I saw how far Cameron would go to rescue Ellie. And okay, Cameron’s well-hidden abilities to shoot down snipers and beat up drug leaders didn’t hurt either. In BOLD TRICKS, I have to admit I still kept thinking Javier was going to reveal his inner soul and have some hidden good intentions somewhere in his bag of tricks, but I never had any false hopes that he’d win back Ellie’s heart. He didn’t deserve it after all he’d done. And I would have lost a lot of respect for Ellie if she’d chosen Javier over Cameron. Still, I have to respect Ms. Halle’s efforts to write her characters honestly rather than just tie everything up in a pretty bow.

BOLD TRICKS combines action, suspense, romance, and angst in a fast-moving story of drug cartels, con artists, and the people who get caught in their crosshairs.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews

BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

5 STAR #Review: Uncovering You 7: Resurrection by @Scarl_Edwards

Uncovering You 7: Resurrection by Scarlett Edwards
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Jeremy has given Lilly her freedom but he’s not above playing mind games that make her question her sanity. With each freedom he grants Lilly, he does something else behind the scenes to hinder her progress or to keep her isolated. Jeremy’s love is far from unconditional and he revels in his power.

With each volume of UNCOVERING YOU, I become more entrenched in Lilly’s journey and Jeremy’s depravity and narcissism.

The ending of RESURRECTION is fantastic. It leaves you at the perfect moment to have you begging for more. I can’t wait to see what Scarlett Edwards does next!

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews


BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

5 STAR #Review: Uncovering You 6: Deliverance by @Scarl_Edwards

Uncovering You 6: Deliverance by Scarlett Edwards
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

UNCOVERING YOU 6: DELIVERANCE brings all the things readers have been begging for—major changes and big revelations. What those changes will mean for Lilly and Jeremy, only time will tell.

In DELIVERANCE, Rose reveals a very different side of herself and opens up even more questions as to her involvement in Lilly’s abduction. How she first came to work for Jeremy and how much she knows about his revenge plot are the two most pressing. Charles is forthcoming with Lilly but it only leads to more questions about how much he and Rose share with each other.

The most drastic change of all is by Jeremy, however. His sudden desire to show Lilly he trusts her shocked me. What girl, besides Lilly, wouldn’t throw Jeremy under the bus the first chance she got? Yet he’s just narcissistic enough to offer her the freedom to do just that, trusting that she won’t. Jeremy’s desire to change the relationship and Lilly’s decision to play the long-game really make me wonder where Scarlett Edwards will take this serial. Will Lilly ever get her revenge? Will Jeremy get everything he deserves for what he did to Lilly?

Ms. Edwards has outdone herself with the twists and turns of the UNCOVERING YOU serial. She forces her readers to follow her down the rabbit hole. I, for one, won’t be able to stop until I’ve uncovered every last secret and seen Lilly get her vengeance once and for all.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews

BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

5 STAR #Review: Beyond by @ChantalFernando

Beyond by Chantal Fernando

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I don’t read post-apocalyptic books. I don’t do zombies. But Chantal Fernando? Oh yes, I like her. That girl knows how to dream up some sexy storylines and she writes the kind of alpha male you can swoon over. So even though this is not my typical genre, it only took reading the summary to know I had to read BEYOND. Turns out it doesn’t matter the genre when Ms. Fernando writes it because it’s still going to be smoking hot, addicting, and delicious.

Olivia is a princess in a world that has lost all the creature comforts we take for granted. In a future distinguished by low population, mutated animals, and zombies that threaten mankind, Olivia’s birthright is nothing to be envious over. Her father believes in a prophecy that states she must marry in her 21st year. He also believes that the future of the people depends on their ability to procreate and expand the population. If Olivia is going to be forced to marry and produce offspring, she figures she may as well pick the gorgeous soldier she’s had her eye on for some time. Her father isn’t thrilled that Olivia picked his best soldier as her future mate, but even he has to agree Dane will make a great leader when its time to replace Evan as leader.

Dane only plans to get married once and while an arranged marriage was never his first choice, he doesn’t shy away from his responsibility. Instead, he embraces getting to know his future wife better and before they know it, they’re both falling hard and fast.

I loved Dane’s instant possessiveness, his jealousy, his alpha male tendencies. I loved the lack of control Olivia had because of the post-apocalyptic setting. The extreme circumstances only added to Dane’s ability to dominate Olivia from the very beginning and I found it so incredibly sexy. I also liked that despite Olivia’s powerlessness over so much, she still showed strength, courage, and resilience. She wasn’t stubborn just for the sake of an opinion and she could protect herself and her people when push came to shove.

All these variables built BEYOND into a fun and steamy read that I flew through and didn’t want to put down. BEYOND had the intangible quality I seek in my ideal romantic read. From the first chapter to the last, Ms. Fernando had me invested and wrapped up in her characters and their world.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews

About the Author:
New York Times, Amazon & USA Today Bestselling Author Chantal Fernando is twenty seven years old and lives in Western Australia.
Lover of all things romance, Chantal is the author of the best selling books Dragon's Lair, Maybe This Time and many more.

When not reading, writing or daydreaming she can be found enjoying life with her three sons and family.

Chantal loves to hear from readers and can be found here:

Social Links:  
Facebook  Goodreads 

Buy Links:

Amazon B&N  Apple  Kobo  


Monday, January 26, 2015

#REVIEW: Savage by @BNToler

Savage by B.N. Toler
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

SAVAGE is the final installment of Aldo’s journey in the Healer series. The series started with a young, naïve, impulsive Aldo and ends with a warrior queen. SAVAGE is the culmination of everything Aldo has learned and experienced and is the time for her to finally be the woman she was always destined to be.

While it would be a disservice to not read each book in the Healer series in order, even readers of the entire series have a lot to remember about the world B.N. Toler has created. In that regard, Ms. Toler did an amazing job recapping all the important details about the paranormal world Aldo lives in at the beginning of SAVAGE without it feeling like a summary.

After being abducted by Bridge in HYBRID, Aldo endures unimaginable horrors as a doctor tests out every way to almost kill a Hybrid. She is tortured within an inch of her life each time; only to have her body heal itself and the doctor begin again.

Daniel is willing to turn the entire world upside down and utilize every resource he has to find Aldo, but he has no idea how damaged she might be when he finally recovers her. Nor does he know just what the tests on Aldo have turned up and how valuable she may have become in the process.

I was so glad to see Aldo shed her immaturity from HYBRID and really start to consider the repercussions her decisions might have on the people around her. In her youth she had been so impulsive that she would leave mass chaos in her wake. She was so determined to accomplish her goals that she never considered whether she was adequately equipped to fight her opponents. I always felt like I was screaming through my kindle at her to wake up and realize she wasn’t all-knowing or all-powerful and to find someone she could trust and actually lean on them. But in SAVAGE, when Aldo has not only the power to back up her threats but the right to seek retribution for those who have wronged her, she also has the willpower and maturity to hold back and consider the whole picture.

The action scenes were detailed and at times almost gory but it added to the strength of the paranormal aspect of the story. The sex scenes are smoking hot and firmly place SAVAGE in the romance genre as well. When it comes to the romance though, I just don’t know that I’m the best one to judge since I’m still trying to figure out how Aldo could leave Rhett. I think part of my reservation is a combination of Aldo not seeming desirable enough to have three powerful, amazing men so smitten over her and my wishing Ms. Toler had made Rhett a little less perfect or Daniel a little more, whatever it took to help me move into clear-cut team Daniel. Instead, I’m always waiting to see if Aldo changes her mind so I’m not able to fully immerse myself in the love scenes.

While for me the series was most perfect in the initial book, HEALER, I still think Ms. Toler accomplished a lot of what she promised in the conclusion of the series. I rated SAVAGE 3.5 stars because for me, it never quite reached the wow factor I had with HEALER and at times I found myself losing interest; but for reviewing purposes I rounded up to 4 stars because I think B.N. Toler still managed to set a high learning curve for Aldo and, through the series and especially in SAVAGE, helped her evolve into the woman she needed to be.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews

About the Author:
B N Toler lives in Virginia with her three rowdy children and gearhead husband. She enjoys warm weather, beaches, reading, and music.

Social Links:  
Website ● Twitter ● Facebook  Goodreads  Email 

Buy Links:
Amazon ● B&N  ● Smashwords  

A big thank you to BN Toler for providing us an e-copy set of the Healer series to run as a giveaway in December and congratulations to our winner, Sophia!

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

#ReleaseDay #Blitz Beyond by @ChantalFernando



Beyond by Chantal Fernando

Description:


Olivia Reynolds lives a sheltered life. Daughter of the leader of their small community, she is treated like a princess, never allowed beyond the safety of the walls. When her father decides she must marry, she chooses the man she has secretly lusted after ever since she first laid eyes on him.Dane Mitchell. 

One of her father’s best men, Dane is as lethal is he is attractive, and Olivia is thrilled at the thought of being at his side. 

Dane Mitchell doesn’t want to be forced into marriage. He is a soldier, a fighter, and has a bigger purpose in life. He doesn’t have the time to deal with a spoilt pampered princess such as Olivia, but owes his life to Evan, Olivia’s father. He accepts the marriage. 

But that doesn’t mean he has to like it.

About the Author:
New York Times, Amazon & USA Today Bestselling Author Chantal Fernando is twenty seven years old and lives in Western Australia.
Lover of all things romance, Chantal is the author of the best selling books Dragon's Lair, Maybe This Time and many more.

When not reading, writing or daydreaming she can be found enjoying life with her three sons and family.

Chantal loves to hear from readers and can be found here:

Social Links:  
Facebook  Goodreads 

Buy Links:

Amazon B&N  Apple  Kobo  

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

#BlogTour #Giveaway: Savage by @BNToler

SAVAGE by BN TOLER

Book 3 in the Healer Series

Description:


A savage is barbaric.
It attacks without restraint or pity.
It is fierce, merciless, and brutal.
Aldo has let that part of herself take over, drive her actions. I thought saving her from Bridge was my biggest problem.
I was wrong.
Something happened while she was missing. And it has altered her in a way that she is almost unrecognizable.
But she won’t tell me anything.
Instead, I’m forced to watch the young and naïve woman I’ve fallen in love with transition into everything I knew she could be; strong, fearless, and unstoppable. The problem is, she’s cut off her humanity, and coupled with those things, she’s a loose cannon.
She’s a savage.
My name is Daniel O’Sullivan and I’m in love with a broken woman. But I will bring her back and remind her of who she really is no matter what it takes.
Even if it kills me.



3

Excerpt: 

I sit as I am for hours, motionless and staring at nothing. Meditating maybe. Giving myself the mental pep-talk everyone needs sometimes—the one where my inner voice tells me to get my shit together and stop acting like such a dumbass. When I finally stand, I wipe at my face, hoping to clear the uncertainty I feel then take a deep breath. I spin around, ready to head back to the house only to stop abruptly. Daniel stands ten feet away from me, his arms crossed over his massive chest; his gray eyes fixed on mine.

“How long have you been there?” I ask, my voice husky.

“The entire time.”

My heart flutters and crashes into my stomach at the same time. I love that he loves me so much. He would follow me to the ends of the earth just to watch me unravel, but I hate he has to. I need to be strong for him. I can’t let whatever it is I’m going through worry him. He has enough on his plate.

“I know . . .” he begins, letting his arms fall to his sides and stepping toward me. “You’ve been though a lot. I want to know everything that happened. You need to talk to someone about it.”

Taking a deep breath, I walk to him, and he hugs me tightly. If the roles were reversed, I’d want to know, too. If someone hurt him, I’d need to know every detail of what happened. I also know it would eat me alive and set my soul on fire. I couldn’t bear the images of someone doing to him what was done to me. So I won’t tell him.

“I just need a little time to get my bearings. I’m fine.”

He pulls me back and looks into my eyes. He doesn’t believe me. My hand finds his face covered with a few days worth of beard and slips into his thick dark hair.

“Please don’t lie to me,” he grumbles.

“Okay.” I nod. “I will be fine.” Which is the truth. At some point, I will be. When? I have no idea. Standing on my toes, I kiss him softly, and his arms tighten around me, squeezing me to his chest. I decide to share one thing—more like a thought or nightmare—from my time in the nest.

“I never thought I’d see you again. I mean . . . I hoped, but there were times I thought I wouldn’t make it out, that I’d die there.” His breath hitches as he squeezes me tighter. “Will you do something for me?”

“Anything,” he promises.

“Make love to me. Right here. Right now,” I beg. “Just . . . touch me everywhere.”

When he pulls away, the worry that’s been laced in his gaze has been replaced with heat—beautiful, scorching desire that makes me ache in all the right places. Pulling his shirt over his head, he lays it on the ground then takes a step toward me. I have no idea why I’m trembling. We’ve made love before, not even a day ago, but as he prowls toward me, the hunger and want humming from him, it feels like the first time. Grabbing the hem of my shirt, he pulls it up, lifting my arms above my head as he removes it. My hair falls freely over my shoulders and he steps back, his eyes perusing me agonizingly slowly. He doesn’t speak, just has his visual feast then comes back to remove more clothing. Each article of clothing he removes builds the fire inside me. I need him. When I’m standing before him in only my panties, he circles me, an energy thrumming from him that is almost enough to get me off alone.

When his warm skin meets my back, his cock pressed against my ass, I nearly collapse. He got naked fast.

A second is nothing to the average human, but to hybrids, it can be an infinite amount of time. It’s almost useless to count it anymore; there is no way to measure it. Not in moments like this. I can’t tell how long Daniel worships my body with only his mouth and hands; how long his tongue dances across my flesh, his fingers caressing all the right spots. I cannot measure the seconds, minutes, or hours that pass as he speaks to me in a language only we are privy to. All I know is it’s too long, yet not nearly long enough. It is euphoria. It is all that matters. By the time he lays me on the ground, my legs are shaking, my body trembling.

Words. I need them. He has to hear I belong to him. That I love him, and could never be without him. Why can’t I speak? I’m so overcome with how I feel for him; there are no words to sum it up.

“Shh,” he whispers as his body towers over mine. “Show me,” he murmurs, and my heart nearly explodes. My hands touch him everywhere, squeezing flesh, pulling him to me, begging for every bit of his weight to crush me; surely there is no more beautiful way to go than death by Daniel. When he pushes inside me, I moan, my head thrown back as I continue to claw at him.


Enter to Win! 

• e-copy set of the Healer series

a Rafflecopter giveaway
About the Author:
B N Toler lives in Virginia with her three rowdy children and gearhead husband. She enjoys warm weather, beaches, reading, and music.

Social Links:  
Website ● Twitter ● Facebook  Goodreads  Email 

Buy Links:
Amazon B&N  Smashwords  

The first two books in the Healer Series are on sale right now, through December, for only 99 pennies.
 
5
Buy Links:

HEALER
Amazon ● B&N  ● Smashwords   

HYBRID
Amazon ● B&N  ● Smashwords  

Check back in the next few days for my review of SAVAGE!