Wednesday, April 30, 2014

#REVIEW: Fallen by @tracilslatton 5 STARS

Fallen (After Trilogy, #1)Fallen by Traci L. Slatton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Emma has survived the strange killing mists with her daughter, Mandy. When they rose out of the mountains and seas, the world crumbled in their wake. Many survivors have realized they now possess psychic gifts, including Emma. She takes care of seven more children who have lost their families and this crew quickly realizes that with more danger due to desperate and savage survivors, they must find help. Arthur, who with great leadership and supplies, offers them safety and Emma slowly falls for him. Arthur and Emma both have secrets from their life Before and those secrets can tear their love apart.

In the beginning, when the mists first broiled people and buildings and vehicles and anything else they rolled across, I prayed. I sent out pleas to the Presence I’d always sensed in my heart. But then the mists rose up out of the oceans. They were powerfully reborn. They’d been morphed into weapons of awesome power. They didn’t just burn things; they fully dissolved them. Turned them into a splash of water and a scattering of sand, destroyed them utterly. The destruction accelerated and reached a crescendo of unimaginable dimensions. The entire world was vanishing inside them.
That was why I could no longer pray. I’d watched too many people die.

FALLEN is a post-apocalyptic, paranormal novel that far exceeded my expectations. I read the summary and was interested, but this book totally knocked my socks off! I REALLY need to start COLD LIGHT immediately. I am so engrossed in these characters lives and in this world that I need to find out what happens next. Emma is focused on surviving, forgetting that life could be fun and enjoyable. Arthur shows her that there is joy in this After world and you must try to live, really live. Otherwise, why survive? To Emma’s credit, trying to make sure eight children survive killing mists, starvation, and rogue survivors is a lot to handle.

This dark and gritty world made feel scared, hopeless and full of fight all at the same time. The emotions evoked were strong and made me really wonder what would happen if I had survived an apocalypse with my children. These people have survived, changed, and some even held onto some hope for a future. The story and characters were extremely well-developed and even though I had made a correct guess concerning the source of the mists fairly early on, there were tons of twists and turns to keep me on my toes. I especially loved the tons of secondary characters who make up their camp. Learning about each and every one of their Before lives just ties you into the story even more. I could imagine living in this survivors camp due to the extreme details and I have a pretty clear picture in my head of the world in the After.

I honestly cannot find anything wrong with FALLEN. If you are a fan of paranormal, science fiction, post-apocalyptic or dystopian genres, I am so excited to recommend the AFTER TRILOGY. Now excuse me while I start COLD LIGHT now.

✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Tickled Pink for Book Ink

#REVIEW: He Belongs with Me by Sarah Darlington @SADarlington

He Belongs with MeHe Belongs with Me by Sarah Darlington
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

2 sisters + 1 hot childhood friend = lots of issues

Maggie and Clara Ryder are identical twin sisters, but their looks are the only thing they have in common. The girls avoid each other when they can and bicker when they are together. They grew up with Leo Maddox and while Maggie was his best friend, Clara was his enemy. When Leo starts showing a softer side, Clara takes notice. Now Maggie realizes that she may lose her best friend to her sister, who she barely tolerates. Even worse, Maggie may LOVE her best friend and she may also love the man who returns to town six years after leaving her. While each girl tries to figure out their feelings or Leo, the also start to work out the issues between each other.

“But icing on the cake was Clara-his brand new girlfriend. Her betrayal hurt more than anything Andrew could have ever put me through, and she was the real reason I needed a person like Dean at my side. I think I’d be fine never seeing Andrew again, but I had to prove to everyone that Clara couldn’t hurt me.”

See. Lots of issues.

I loved that there was more to this story than a romantic love story. Its also about familial bonds and the struggle these sisters have to get along while being so different. HE BELONGS WITH ME is very well-written and entertaining. There’s tons of fun and plenty of angst with the slightly complicated plot. I am thoroughly impressed that this is Sarah Darlington’s first book because I’m not seeing any glaring plots issues or

I kind of wished each sister had their own book, but since the events occur at the same time it worked out well. We hear both Maggie and Clara’s point of view, which helped me get to know each girl and despite all the scenarios and characters, everything was well-developed. Having two female leads is a welcome change from the normal lead male and lead female point of view in the storytelling. I think I was most surprised at my own opinion of the girls. I thought I would like and relate more to Maggie, but there’s a lot to Clara that no one understands.

HE BELONGS WITH ME is a great new adult novel with an interesting and different story that not only focuses on the romance, but on sisterly love/hate relationship. Darlington’s effect of two dramatically different female point of views is refreshing. I encourage anyone in love with the new adult genre to give this one a try.

✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Tickled Pink for Book Ink

Cover Reveal - SLADE by Victoria Ashley @hooha84Author


photo 2 (12)

Release Date: June 3rd


My name is Slade Merrick and I’m a fucking sex addict . . . I’ve been told it’s a problem. But I see it as a passion; something that I’m good at. And who the fuck stops something that they’re good at? They want me to seek help; get my cock in check. Don't judge my lifestyle. You’re no better than me. Just admit it, you like to fuck too. Sex is what I do best; my own personal high, so I embrace it instead of being ashamed. When I'm not fucking, I'm slinging drinks at Walk Of Shame or stripping my way into your bed; another thing I'm good at. Every woman’s darkest fantasy brought to life. So, am I stopping? Fuck no. Sex is beautiful, raw and erotic and I get off knowing I can have it with anyone I want . . . with the exception of her. Aspen. She walks into the club swaying those hips, instantly drawing my cock to attention. She’s pure perfection. That is, until she opens that mouth, drawing me in and for the first time in forever I want something more than sex. I want her and she hates it. Things get dirty. Dirty is what I like; it’s how I live. But . . . she’s playing a game she can never win.

photo 1 (15) 


It’s dark. I love it with the lights off. She insisted on teasing me this way. My arms are tied behind me; my naked body bound to a chair. Goose bumps prickle my flesh as she softly blows on my hard cock, almost breaking my willpower. Her lips are so close, yet not close enough. I insist on teasing her this way. “Na ah, not yet, baby.” She tilts her head up, her blond hair cascading over her shoulders as her eyes lock with mine. They’re intense; desperate. She’s silently begging me with her eyes; asking me to let her touch me already. I’m used to this. She needs to learn that when you’re in my house we play by my rules. “Slade,” she whimpers. “Come on already.” “Look down, baby.” She tilts her head back down and runs her tongue over her lips as she eagerly looks at my cock; no doubt imagining what it tastes like in her mouth. “That’s it. Don’t move.” I lift my hips, bringing the tip of my head to brush her lips. “You want me in your mouth?” She nods her head and lets out a sound between a moan and a growl. Damn, it’s such a turn on. “How bad do you want it? I want to fucking hear it?” Her nails dig into my thighs as she growls in aggravation, “More than anything. I fucking want it so just give it to me, dammit. You already know how bad I want it.” A deep laugh rumbles in my throat as she scratches her nails down my legs in an attempt to hurt me. What she doesn’t realize is that I welcome the pain. I get off on it. “Is that all you got, pussycat?” I tease. “If you want my cock, you’re going to have to do better than that.” She looks angry now; determined. Standing up, she points a finger in my chest. “You’re the one tied up. This is supposed to be my game. Why do you have to torture me and make me wait?” Biting my bottom lip, I nod for her to move closer to me. When she gets close to my face, I stick my tongue out and run it over her lips, causing her to tremble as I taste her. “Show. Me. How. Much. You. Want. Me.” Straddling me, she screams and slaps me hard across the face before yanking my head back by my hair. If I could get any harder, I would. Fuck me. “Now, that’s what I’m talking about.” I press my stiff cock against her ass, showing her just how turned on I am. Then I look her in the eye. “Show me what you can do with your mouth. First impression is always the most important.” A mischievous smile spreads across her face as she slithers her way off my lap and down between my legs. Gripping my thighs in her hands, she runs her tongue over the tip of my dick before suctioning it into her mouth. It hits the back of her throat, causing her to gag. She doesn’t care; completely uninhibited. She just shoves it deeper. Fuck yeah. I moan as she swirls her tongue around my shaft while sucking at the same time. It feels fucking fantastic. “I told you it’s worth the wait, baby. Just wait until I get inside you. It feels better than it tastes.” She pulls back and licks her lips. “Then why don’t you show me. My pussy has never been so wet.” She stands up and bends over in front of me, exposing her wet lips. I can see the moisture glistening from here; beckoning to suck me inside. She smiles as she runs her fingers over the folds as if she’s teasing me; testing me. “You like that?” She asks seductively, tantalizing me. “You want this tight little pussy all for yourself, you greedy little bastard?” I nod, playing into her little game. She seems to think she’s in charge. “Well, come and get it.” She inserts her fingers into her mouth and sucks them clean, before shoving them into her entrance, fucking me with her eyes. Her ass moves up and down in perfect rhythm as she purrs. “I’m waiting.” She shoves her fingers deeper. “I want to see those muscles flexing as you ram into me. I want you to…” Well you won’t be waiting for long. Breaking free from my restraints, I stand up, grab her hips and flip her around before slamming her back up against the wall. “What were you saying, baby?” I growl into her ear. I grip both of her ass cheeks and lift her as she wraps her legs around my waist, squeezing. “I’m not sure you can handle what I have to offer.” I grip her face in my hand before leaning in and biting her bottom lip, roughly tugging. “You’re finally about to get what you’ve wanted. I just hope you don’t have shit to do for the next few days because this might get a little rough. Last time to make your escape, because once I start there’s no stopping until you’re screaming my name loud; so loud it fucking hurts my ears.” I search her eyes waiting to see if she’s changed her mind; nothing but raw heat and lust. She still wants it. She’s brave. No girl walks into my bed and walks out unscathed. So, she’ll get it. I lift an eyebrow. “Okay, then.” I take wide strides across the room to my king-sized bed and toss her atop the mattress. Before she can blink, I am between her thighs, spreading them wide for me. I run my tongue up her smooth flesh, stopping at intersection of her thighs and clean shaven pussy. “You ready for me to make you cum without even touching you?” I begin blowing my cool breath across her swollen, wet pussy. She thrusts her hips up; no doubt her hungry little pussy wanting more and just as I’m about to show her my skills, there’s a knock at the damn door.



  add-to-goodreads-button31 (1)


Victoria Ashley grew up in Rockford, IL and has had a passion for reading for as long as she can remember. After finding a reading app where it allowed readers to upload their own stories, she gave it a shot and writing became her passion. She lives for a good romance book with tattooed bad boys that are just highly misunderstood and is not afraid to be caught crying during a good read. When she’s not reading or writing about bad boys, you can find her watching her favorites shows such as Sons Of Anarchy, Dexter and True Blood. She is the author of Wake Up Call and This Regret and is currently working on more releases for 2014.

photo 3 (9)

photo (22)

Monday, April 28, 2014

#Review: In a Cowboy's Bed

In a Cowboy's BedIn a Cowboy's Bed by Cat Johnson, Vonna Harper, Lynn LaFleur
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

IN A COWBOY'S BED is an anthology featuring three hot cowboy stories.

The first story, "Two for the Road" by Cat Johnson features a young actress named Heather London who's been feeling stifled in her personal life as well as her career by her controlling manager mother. She meets hunky cowboys Ned and Ben when the car she's driving breaks down and they find her stranded at the side of the road. She spins them a wild story about why she's running then goes home with them. After a few days of some rather hot m/f/m action, she takes off again but then returns after she's landed a movie role based on her talent instead of her name.

I did enjoy this story, but it left me wanting more.

The second story, "Soul of a Cowboy" by Vonna Harper has journalist Kathy Vinoza seeing out rancher Mike Moss so she can write a story about ranchers who utilize Bureau of Land Management land as a supplement to their own land when taking care of their herds.

I liked Mike, but the story had a feel of insta-love which I don't care for.

The third story, "Trouble in Boots" by Lynn LaFleur is about bar waitress Keely Sheridan and her long-time crush Nick Fallon. Nick has also been crushing on Keely, but feels like he has to get his financial situation in check before he has anything to offer a woman. Keely goes to stay with Nick after he's injured firefighting and the sparks fly.

While I enjoyed the first two stories, this one was my favorite.

✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Lisa S.

#Review: Grace Street by @ella_dominguez (@DameMargo)

Grace Street (Chapter 8, #1)Grace Street by Ella Dominguez
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

GRACE STREET is a fascinating story reminiscent of the television shows “Tell Me Lies” and “Hannibal”, only the focus is on the romantic relationship instead of a murder. It features a man who thinks he’s the master of the mind game, and the strong heroine who unexpectedly challenges him. This is a dark story with some harsh elements, but it’s not all doom and gloom. There’s plenty of excitement and the occasional laugh to prevent the plot from getting mired down. Also, Elsa is no shrinking violet, and I’m planning to add several of her quotes to my favorites list.

At first I had trouble understanding Elsa’s attraction to Victor. He starts their relationship by stalking her, and frankly it’s creepy. Even Elsa thinks Victor’s behavior is sinister, and describes him as “Beautifully Creepy”. Elsa fingers her mace, but hesitates due his attractiveness. I wanted to yell at her, Do it! Do it! Of course, macing him wouldn’t have been nearly as much fun as the witty repartee they indulge in instead.

…I’ve had my share of dangerous men and I’m over it.

Elsa decides to follow Victor down the rabbit hole a little further, and meets him at a house on Grace Street. There the story turns hot. He’s still dark and torments Elsa without remorse, but I could see why she stayed. Whew! A bit of hot, dirty sex sure as hell hits the right spot for Elsa as well as the reader.

So what you’re saying is: everything will be safe, sane and consensual?”
“Not exactly, but two out of three ain’t bad.

Soon Elsa starts playing the game, but not exactly by Victor’s rules. She may be submissive sexually, but that doesn’t make her either stupid or a doormat. This is a concept which is missing in way too much BDSM fiction. Submissive doesn’t mean never questioning your dominant lover. It also doesn’t mean stupid or weak. No, I don’t subscribe to the theory ‘the submissive actually has all the power’ theory. When you’re tied down and your lover is flogging the crap out of you, how in charge do you really think you are?  Elsa a smart, educated woman, and she starts turning the tables on Victor. It’s delicious to read.

GRACE STREET is intriguing with some very good characters, however, there are a few issues. The story develops a bit too slowly so the book seems much longer than the advertised 235 pages. There’s also an anal sex scene with no lube which always makes me clench my ass cheeks in horror. Lastly, there is no happy ending to this story. Honestly, I don’t see how there could have been a happy ending without ruining the book, but it’s important to note for those who require one in their books.

So who would enjoy GRACE STREET? Well, it’s less dark than “MindFuck” by Manna Francis although that term comes to mind frequently. It’s around the same level of darkness as “Bared to You” by Sylvia Day, only the characters/story are deeper. GRACE STREET is unique, and the story has plenty of interesting places to go in the next installment. This isn’t an automatic one click for the next book in the series for me, but on the other hand I can’t get Elsa or Victor out of my head.

✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Guest Reviewer, Dame Margo

Sunday, April 27, 2014

#Review: Wrecking Ball by @BNTOLER 4 Stars

Wrecking Ball by B.N. Toler
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A charming and steamy story of a married couple that hit a wrong turn and are forced to decide whether or not they can recover.

Brandon was a total playboy until he met Sophia. He’d never had to work to get a girl in bed and he always made it clear it wasn’t going to be a serious thing. But from the moment Sophia hit him with her volleyball, Jake became a tongue-tied, stumbling idiot for the girl he just had to have. Sophia had heard of Brandon’s reputation though, and as the confident, self-assured woman that she was, she made Brandon work for it. When they finally got together, it was fireworks and magic, passion and fire.

Life has a way of calming down even the hottest of flames over time and the once passion-filled romance eventually turned into a comfortable marriage with two daughters. Brandon was focused on his career and Sophia was a supportive wife and mother handling everything at home. Then one day she walked in on something that never should have happened and her entire world crumbled to the ground.

The story is told in two parts: the past and the present. In the past, the reader gets to experience firsthand just how magical the romance between Brandon and Sophia could be. In the present, Sophia’s sister convinces her to go on a trip to figure out how she wants to move forward and more importantly, to rediscover the confident, adventurous woman she’d once been. I could identify with Sophia in every way: from the way she handled her life-changing crisis to the way she struggled over how to move forward. And Brandon, I loved reading about just how much he adored Sophia; it was evident in most everything he did and it made their crossroads that much more painful. What I loved most about WRECKING BALL was the way Ms. Toler created two characters that you could completely empathize with and fall in love with, which made their split hit that much closer to home.

WRECKING BALL is sad, steamy, romantic, and fun all combined into one fantastic novel. If you’re in the mood for an emotional story that will tear you in two just to put you back together, WRECKING BALL is the book for you.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Saturday, April 26, 2014

3 #NEW Blog Tours - Sign-Ups Posted! @NightlifeNovels @Ms_CarolinaS @Ms_ellen_march

You are welcome to sign up.  



HIS GIRL FRIDAY by Ellen March
Tour Dates:  June 29th - July 20, 2014

Tour Dates:  June 1 - June 15, 2014  

Cover Reveal Date:  MAY 19, 2014



Sally Friday is a mess. Not only is she tortured by self-doubt, but she is also clumsy and has no fashion sense. However, these qualities are exactly what her boss is counting on when she sends her to spy on reclusive millionaire playboy, Roman Daniels. Sally, normally an office clerk for the gossip magazine, Normandy, interviews for the position as Roman’s new secretary. His jealous PA, Antonia, immediately hires the girl, confident that her disheveled appearance will make her invisible to Roman’s wandering eye. Reliably disaster-prone, Sally makes a memorable first impression, and Roman wonders if he will survive her employment. But there is something about Sally that Roman can’t dismiss. Unlike every other woman, she is unswayed by his masculine good looks, and he keeps catching intriguing glimpses of her feminine potential.

When Sally takes a midnight dip in his pool, Roman makes an eye-popping discovery: Sally is hiding a luscious hour-glass figure beneath those baggy clothes. Her hidden assets as well as her refreshing innocence have Roman hooked. That is, until his growing feelings and fear of commitment get in the way and he decides to back off. With the help of Roman’s best friend Paul, Sally plays to Roman’s jealousy and gives him a taste of his own medicine. But what will Roman do when Sally’s deceit is revealed?

(Cover Reveal - Both books are being offered for review)

Everyone tells little girls to be themselves around boys, but let’s face it, that’s simply the worst piece of advice ever. What if “yourself” is not exactly an appealing woman? Katherine Bianchi was raised to be herself, a smart, posh, stylish girl from New York City; the problem is that “herself” also included eating like a truck driver and cursing like a sailor, with a genetic inability to take bullshit from anyone. Not necessarily an appealing description in her pretentious environment.

That’s why, at 25, she was predestined to live a crazy cat lady life, or to be the overachiever workaholic she had become since college. But her perfect life plans got messed up when she met Dylan Berkeley, a handsome billionaire, owner of BKY Enterprises, who never learned the meaning of the word NO. With a Ben & Jerry’s lifestyle (lots of options, exciting flavors, and never repeating a scoop), Berkeley wasn’t intimidated by Katherine’s “ice heart bitch” reputation; the challenge of having her became a personal task he couldn’t forget. How to avoid a NO from a girl who has never said YES for an answer?

Warning: 18+ Contains sex scenes and lots of unnecessary profanities.

Katherine Bianchi had everything her daddy’s money could buy. Dresses, shoes, a fancy apartment, everything…except for Dylan Berkeley. Apparently being the spoiled princess of Upper East Side was not appealing enough to keep the sexy, Forbes billionaire, and owner of BKY Enterprises.

After running from Berkeley and his Ben & Jerry’s lifestyle (lots of options, exciting flavors and never repeating a scoop), Katherine discovered she may need what she never thought she could want. What if she ran away from the only man who could save her from her cat lady destiny?

More cursing, more fashion, more Blue Eyes and even more Kev’s speeches. Can the bitch get the guy?

Warning: 18+ Contains sex scenes and lots of unnecessary profanities.

(Previous books are being offered for review as well)

Vampires Aaron and Michelle prowl the dark, gritty, strip clubs and back alleys of London on the hunt for Michael Jamison, the man who stole Michelle's blood and left her for dead. To assist them, Aaron's new master, Urvashi, calls in favors from her friends, Russian mercenary werewolves.

Wolves Katya and Ivan, hunters adept at killing rogue vampires, set aside their animosity for Aaron and Michelle to stop Jamison from killing again – he already has one bloodless victim lying in the morgue.

Jamison, ex-special forces, feels his enemies closing in, but he won’t go down without a fight – and like Aaron and Michelle, he also has powerful friends.

Experience the violent, sensual underbelly of Nightlife London, as Aaron and Michelle mix up a wicked blend of sex, chaos, and mayhem.

Tour Coordinator:

I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews

Friday, April 25, 2014

#Review: Hell Without You by @Ranae_Rose 4 STARS (@PoetLove726)

Hell Without YouHell Without You by Ranae Rose
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What if we could fix one bad mistake we made when we were too young to know any better? Would you be too afraid to take a leap of faith and try? Or would you dive in head first? HELL WITHOUT YOU shows that sometimes, even when years have passed, feelings are still alive just buried deep.

Clementine has returned home after seven years away at college and graduate school. Nostalgia has her driving past places she has tried to forget but can’t seem to let go of, including her grandmother’s house. She knows someone new owns her grandmother’s house but hopes they won’t mind if she just takes a walk around. As she’s about to get into her car and leave, a truck pulls in and blocks her way. Out steps the last person she expected to see, Donovan, her ex-boyfriend. He reveals that he owns the house. She manages to escape, but rain and flash flooding land her right in a ditch. Donovan knew the weather was awful and left shortly thereafter to make sure she reached her destination safely. When he finds her walking down the road, he convinces her to come stay with him, insisting she can’t reach her destination due to the flooding.

From there starts the memories of the past and finding out what they both missed in each other’s lives. Slowly they open up and Donovan discovers why she ran away without a word and why he was never able to reach her. They both begin to realize they still have feelings for each other, but they both know that the past could come back to haunt them. Her parents hate him. She’s looking for a job three hours away. He owns a shop in town as well as her grandmother’s old house. Will they be able to overcome what life tosses at them? They’ve already learned they can’t live without each other.

I really enjoyed this book. It was nice to see characters face real situations and not circumstances that just seem too good to be true. HELL WITHOUT YOU reminds you that there are many young men in our society that enlist young and come home with problems due to being sent off to war. While HELL WITHOUT YOU only briefly touched on the subject, I feel Ranae Rose did a good job of incorporating it into the story. I wanted a little bit more in the way of details and there were a few places where the timeline jumped that seemed kind of random. Otherwise it was a great read.

✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Reviewer, Leah

#Review: A Veil of Glass and Rain

A Veil of Glass and RainA Veil of Glass and Rain by Petra F. Bagnardi
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Brina and Eagan have been lovingly close friends since he was fourteen and she was nine. As children, they spend their summers traveling with their photographer parents. Only Brina and Eagan know what its like to have parents who fall into depression without their spouse and in return, must live alone during the school years. They only spend their summers together, but their bond ties them until Brina reaches an age that her feelings for Eagan are more than friendly. She now feels that she must keep him away in order to protect her heart. When Eagan becomes an architect in Rome, where Brina is studying cinema and music, she tries to figure out how to remain his friend when he insists on being a part of her life.

A VEIL OF GLASS AND RAIN is beautiful story about changing love between maturing young adults. The story reads like a metaphor-filled poem that floats between reality and dreams. Brina and Eagan are very dependent on each and this is complicated as young adults. Brina’s emotions are very complicated and with an obvious lack of parental interest, she seems lost. I felt horrible for her and couldn’t imagine the life she had led. It’s easy to see why she clung to her relationship with Eagan her whole life. He was a constant she craved.

While the story was beautiful and elegant, I found it did not flow well and I was continually lost between reality and fantasy. I was under the impression that the characters were dreaming more often than not. Reading this book reminded me of a foreign film where I felt like I was missing something I wasn’t cultured enough to understand. Actually, this book might make a great independent film or something else I’m really not hip enough about to suggest. There were also some attempts to discuss Brina’s eating habits, but this part of the story was underdeveloped and I’m not sure what to think about Brina’s emotional state.

A VEIL OF GLASS AND RAIN had a common plot that was twisted with complicated dependency between Brina and Eagan and a writing style to which I am unaccustomed. Maybe if you are a fan of metaphor and symbolism set in the romantic city of Rome, than this would be a story for you.

✳✳ Copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

✳✳ Reviewed on I Bookie Nookie Reviews by Tickled Pink for Book Ink

Thursday, April 24, 2014

#Review: Vital Sign by @JLMacbooks 4 Stars

Vital Sign by J.L. Mac
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A beautiful and heartbreaking story of love, loss, grief, and second chances.

Sadie met the love of her life at five years old. But after only a few years of wedded bliss, she lost Jake suddenly and tragically. Two years later, she’s still not ready to say goodbye or even fully allow herself to grieve because that would mean accepting the finality of the situation. Her family insists she reach out to some of the organ recipients in the hopes that it will help her find some peace. Sadie feels nothing but anger and hate for anyone who benefitted from Jake’s death, but she agrees to appease her concerned family.

Sadie is prepared to hate the organ recipients, but she never prepared herself for Zander McBride. She certainly never expected to feel attraction. She is horrified and guilt-ridden but she can’t seem to deny the fact that she and Zander connect in a way she hasn’t felt in a long time. But she can’t let Zander into her heart unless she’s willing to let Jake go, and Sadie hasn’t even dealt with her grief, much less gotten to a place where she can move on.

VITAL SIGN is an emotional read. I generally avoid books that deal with the death of a spouse or child; it’s too horrifying and I don’t like to think about it, much less read about it. But I also can be a bit of a cover whore, and Vital Signs really drew me in with its beautiful cover. I decided to give it a try, and despite the overwhelming sadness I experienced reading about Sadie’s journey, it also had a lot of hope and love in the story. If anyone could be worth working through the grief, it would be Zander. He was open and caring and above all, understanding. He had his own dark past that made him feel less than worthy of Sadie but it didn’t stop him from giving it everything he had.

VITAL SIGN did a great job of not glossing over the pain of losing a significant other—Sadie was unapologetically broken. If you’re a fan of emotional stories with a silver lining, you’ll enjoy VITAL SIGN.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Monday, April 21, 2014

Cover Reveal and Guest Post: How We Deal With Gravity by @TheGingerScott

How We Deal With Gravity by Ginger Scott
Available July 2014


When her son Max was diagnosed with autism, Avery Abbot’s life changed forever. Her husband left, and her own dreams became a distant fantasy—always second to fighting never-ending battles to make sure Max was given opportunity, love and respect. Finding someone to fight along her side wasn’t even on her list, and she’d come to terms with the fact that she could never be her own priority again. 

But a familiar face walking into her life in the form of 25-year-old Mason Street had Avery’s heart waging a war within. Mason was a failure. When he left his hometown five years ago, he was never coming back—it was only a matter of time before his records hit the billboard charts. Women, booze and rock-n-roll—that was it for him. But it seemed fate had a different plan in mind, and with a dropped record contract, little money and nowhere to go, Mason turned to the only family that ever made him feel home. 

Avery loved Mason silently for years—until he broke her heart…completely. But time and life have a funny way of changing people, and sometimes second chances are there for a reason. Could this one save them both?

Guest Post with Ginger Scott:

Where do you come up with the ideas for the stories you write about?

It all starts with the characters. They paint the picture for every story. Where would this person live? What would he sound like? What kind of clothing does she wear? Is he rich or poor? Is she kind and generous or selfish and stubborn?

Once I have a good character in my head, I imagine them in a situation, and my story is born from that. For example, with Waiting on the Sidelines, I wanted to write a real tomboy—one that girls could really identify with. I carried Nolan around for years, perfecting her nuances—I probably formed Nolan more than I have any other character—pulling apart the physical things about her, like her appearance, and mashing it with the material things like her possessions, clothes and cars. And then I threw her into a tailspin—I put her in high school. Even the most sure-of-herself girl can become full of anxiety and doubt in the face of hormones, judgment, first-love and heartbreak. And that story grew from there. I wanted to watch Nolan navigate it all—and I wanted it to be, above all else, REAL.

It was the same with Blindness. I thought of the character of Cody first—a beautiful man, broken inside and out. I wanted him to have the sex appeal, but not be so aware of it—one of those quiet guys, just plugging away and trying to get by. Cody, a former motocross rider, overcomes a physical injury, and when I thought about what might make him fight to be whole again, I realized it would take finding someone just like him, in many ways. And that’s where Charlie and Cody’s love story was born.

My most recent novel, How We Deal With Gravity, was born in the same way; only the inspiration came from a subject I care deeply about—autism. I volunteer for an autism organization, and have been touched by it personally in many ways. Through my work, I’ve interviewed countless families affected by it, and I’ve learned that these people are the strongest I know. Avery’s character came first—a single mom raising a child with autism, putting herself second…always. Every inch of Avery flooded me quickly—she was strong and beautiful, but tired—so very tired. And she was human, and doubted her strength constantly. I think more than any story I’ve written, I wanted Avery to have someone sweep her off her feet—I felt like she deserved it. But Mason isn’t the perfect knight and shining armor—at least not right out of the gate. And when I finished figuring out what made Mason Mason, inside and out, their story was something incredibly natural.

I’ve been a journalist for most of my professional life, and I’ve been conditioned to find those stories that are around us—everywhere. Everyone has a story—it’s one of the first things they teach you in J-school, and I’ve uncovered, interviewed and told some amazing stories just by asking those who are willing to share. My books work the same way, but that inner dialogue all takes place in my head, a constant parade of characters all waiting for their stories to be told.

Sunday, April 20, 2014

#Review: Uncovering You 2: Submission by @Scarl_Edwards 5 Stars

Uncovering You 2: Submission by Scarlett Edwards
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What kind of sick, masochistic torture is this? No really, I want to know. It’s bad enough that I’m experiencing Lilly’s torture as if it were my own. But I feel even more abused because I can’t just sit down and endure one night of abuse in order to find out what happens, I have to take it in small, spread out doses because this is part of a serial. If the goal is to make the reader feel more attuned to Lilly’s plight, then Scarlett Edwards has accomplished her goal. I really could feel Lilly’s despair. But seeing as how it’s only been a few weeks and I had to struggle to remember Lilly’s background story, I’m still inclined to think this would be better combined into one novel. (I have a feeling Lilly's past might end up being an important part of what's happening right now but I can’t recall the specific details anymore.)

In UNCOVERING YOU 2, Lilly has agreed to sign Jeremy Stonehart’s contract and is now learning exactly what that entails (only, of course, in Jeremy’s time and at his whim). Jeremy comes across as truly sadistic and I cringed at so many things he said and did. I completely empathized with Lilly’s actions and reactions. I was completely enthralled in the story despite the emotional pain I endured in reading it.

I gave UNCOVERING YOU 2: SUBMISSION 5 stars not because I loved it, because I kind of hated it in that *you took me to a really dark place and I hated being there but it was so well-written and so perfectly told that I couldn’t help but be sucked in* kind of way. So okay, maybe that sounds like I did love it; I was just so caught up in the story that I was repulsed by it’s darkness because it felt entirely too real. If you want a small piece of advice, I don’t recommend reading this as a bedtime story—you won’t like the dreams you have as a result! I don’t even want to know the darkness Ms. Edwards had to tap into to write this story or to create someone like Jeremy, but I’m dying to see what happens and more importantly, why. If you’re in the mood for a truly dark story, this serial is the one for you. I will be a glutton for punishment waiting impatiently for May 10th when UNCOVERING YOU #3 comes out.

**On a bright note, each subsequent book in the UNCOVERING YOU series is set to be released 20 days after the one before it, so at least the wait isn't too long between each book.

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

View all my reviews

BUY IT NOW! - Amazon

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Blog Tour #Review and #Giveaway: Scare Crow by @Julie_Hockley 4 Stars

Scare Crow by Julie Hockley


Nineteen-year-old Emily Sheppard is losing her sanity.

Ever since her mob king boyfriend, Cameron Hillard, abandoned her for her own good, Emmy has been attempting to move on with her charmed college student life as if nothing happened. Now rejected from the underworld and left grieving over CameronΓÇÖs alleged death.

Emmy realizes she belongs nowhere. Worse yet, she is now keeping a dangerous secret.

After just a short time with Emily, Cameron has lost control over his world. As he miserably attempts to return to what is left of his life and unravel the mess he has made of the underworld, EmilyΓÇÖs hate turns to desperation. She needs to kill the kingpins responsible for CameronΓÇÖs death before they come looking for her. As Cameron secretly observes Emily, he has no idea of the danger he has placed her inΓÇöor that it may already be too late for him to save her.

Scare Crow is a tale of revenge, terror, and love as Emmy and Cameron embark on separate journeys to face enemies, correct past mistakes, and find their way to their destinies.


My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The most anticipated abduction sequel of 2014 finally finds its way to readers’ hands in the form of SCARE CROW. Julie Hockley had a huge task in front of her with some of the most obsessed fans *raises hand* chomping at the bit for any update on Cameron and Emily’s story.

CROW’S ROW ended with Cameron faking his own death so Emily can lead a normal life—one without danger, threats, and drug lords. What he didn’t realize was just how far Emily would go to seek revenge on those who took Cameron from her. Emily is determined to plunge herself back into the underworld to bring down those who wronged her.

SCARE CROW is told in alternating points of view, switching between Emmy and Cameron, which I thought was absolutely perfect and necessary for the progression of the story. By reading from Cameron’s point of view, the reader really gets to see the business side of Cameron—the dark side of Cameron—and it only made him more real. All my favorite characters returned for SCARE CROW (except Rocco of course) and the reader even gets more insight into Emily’s brother.

At the end of CROW'S ROW, I had full confidence that Emily would find a way into the drug world and cause a lot of trouble. But her first few attempts at retribution had me shaking my head in dumbfounded horror. By the time she finally pulled together an idea worthy of her opponents, I had serious doubts as to whether she could have come up with such an elaborate and complicated plan.

Cameron, on the other hand, I believed. He vacillated between playing hero and going off on suicidal missions, but I thought that was a good representation of where he was at after giving up Emmy. He couldn’t have her and life wasn’t the same without her; he wasn’t the same without her.

I recently found out SCARE CROW is book 2 of a trilogy and I’m immensely grateful for that. While SCARE CROW’s ending left me in a much better place than CROW’S ROW, there’s still so much more I’d like to see. Julie Hockley has created an incredibly elaborate underworld with characters worthy of loving and I’m just not done experiencing life and love with them!

**Complimentary copy provided by the author/publisher for an honest review.

**Reviewed by preppea on I ♥ Bookie Nookie Reviews.

Enter to Win! 

  • 3x Signed Paperbacks of Scare Crow
  • 5x Ebook of Scare Crow (any platform)
  • Stunning Crow Cuff Bracelet

About the Author:
A former germaphobe and clean-freak turned mother of two, Julie collects enough tears and snot in a month to recreate Slimer Monster from Ghostbusters. Other than playing devoted wife and mama, Julie is the funniest person in the room (according to the 3 year-old and 2 year-old in said room) and can build the most awesome Lego rocket ship youΓÇÖve ever set your eyes on (according to her). Oh, and she has a full time career and has also written a bestselling novel. Superhero, or just downright insane?

Social Links:  

Buy Links:

Tour Coordinator: